We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casablanca a great choice for a traveler”
Review of Casablanca Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casablanca Hostal
Ranked #30 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Casablanca a great choice for a traveler”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is an excellent travelers' hotel, near the main square. Its rooms were nice with firm beds, hot shower, TV, etc. Pricing was reasonable for the quality of the hostel according to prevailing rates in Arequipa at this time. The place had a very charming atmosphere, with a common area for meeting other travelers on the second floor and a picturesque eating area upstairs. Its Internet was very fast. The hosts spoke adequate English and were knowledgeable about tourist sites and restaurants. The breakfast was very simple, only pastry coffee and juice, so somebody might downgrade the hotel to a four-star because of this. If somebody feels a hotel needs a pool and a hairdryer for a five-star rating, then this would only rate three or four stars. I had to get up at 2:30 for an early tour, and the staff was right on the button waking me up at the right time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smk47807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
43
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Pros: We loved the location. You come out and you are in the Plaza de Armas. A taxi to the bus station cost 10 soles. Rooms had a nice feeling to it. High ceiling and colonial style. Bed comfortable but mattress a little bit hard. Finally, we enjoyed the little balcony!

Cons: Breakfast was disappointing (only bread, jam, coffee and juice). It would have been nice if they served eggs and fruits.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlefan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here. It's so close to everything. The rooms are really great and very interesting. They are also really warm. As I've said in other reviews, I'm always cold at night so they gave me an extra blanket just in case. I never needed it and the room was so comfortable I was actually trying to figure out how it was heated as there was no visible heating in the room. The rooms are kept very clean and the staff is super helpful and nice. The breakfast area is great and the fresh juice and coffee are amazing!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megmza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I booked a trip to Colca valley through Emotion Tour, Chaco, Paracas, which included a stay of 2 nights in Casablanca. I had no expectations in advance, but was positively surprised. It gave me what I needed: A clean, spacy room with shower, very quiet. Right outside the door Internet and "living room", where I could meet the neighbours. A few steps up the breakfast-room and access to a roof garden, where I could take some fresh air and see the sun - and snow-capped mountains.
One staircase down I always found a helpful person at the front desk. Out of the front door I was right in the center of Arequipa - Plaza de Armas. How to succeed in picking a hostal without really trying!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a reservation confirmed a month in advance and arrive after days on the trail only to find that our reservation had been given away by mistake. The staff had no authority to find us a reservation at a similar hotel or to pay the difference for the more expensive hotel we had to stay at. The hotel owners turned a deaf ear to our requests. I am sure this is a fine place to stay but our experience shows that the reservation system is not reliable and you're on your own if things go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBro2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I booked a room for three by email - staff were very helpful and the room was absolutely massive, with four single beds and high ceilings. The only downside was the traffic noise but we asked for a room towards the back for the second night and it was much quieter. The hostel is clean and couldn't be in a better location. The staff are extremely helpful, arranging for 6am breakfast before our trip to the Colca valley and recommended a very good travel agency for the trip. Very happy with Casablanca, would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavenderverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Its important to note that there are several hotels/ hostels in Arequipa with the name Casa Blanca so check the address before you go!
We stayed Puente Bolognesi, which is directly on the corner to the main square (plaza de armas) so it couldnt be more central. Some of the rooms have a balcony looking over to the square! The place is build beautifully of the original white stone which still features in the rooms. We stayed in two different rooms, both where spacious and had a balcony, spotless clean, TV, and private bathrooms with hot shower. Really nice beds and comfortable. Rooms towards the street are a little noisy with the traffic at night at the square but it didnt bother me.
The hotel also has a big common room on the second floor with a little view over the town.
In general very well maintained and clean. They have 8 rooms.
Services was great two, the guys at the reception were really helpful and friendly with all our questions. Only one of the girls was a bit moody and constantly distracted on the phone to her friends.. we were able to store our luggage at the hotel when we went for a trip, and breakfast is included as well (its only contintental breakfast so just coffee, juice, jam.. a little thin for the price but still good standard). There is a big kitchen upstairs but I dont know if it can be used by guests. Sheets and towels were included as well.
It calls itself Hostal but in general more run like a hotel.
I loved it and would really recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicLondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#15 of 100 in Arequipa
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona Solar
Hotel Casona Solar
#3 of 173 in Arequipa
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Solar
Hostal Solar
#7 of 173 in Arequipa
154 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Casa De Sillar
La Casa De Sillar
#12 of 178 in Arequipa
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catedral Arequipa
Catedral Arequipa
#23 of 178 in Arequipa
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hostal

Property: Casablanca Hostal
Address: Bolognesi 104, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casablanca Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular colonial house made of white sillar, this charming, small hotel is one of the nicest in Peru and one of the best values, and perfectly located: on the Plaza de Armas (unless you've got a room facing the square and need total quiet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing