We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hotel, but hard to find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meliana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Meliana
Ranked #84 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel, but hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed 2 nights with Meliana during our tour.

Rooms: We got a larger room for 3 people, so we were able to spread out a bit. The beds were actually clean at this location, which had us cheering. The courtyard has a beautiful little garden which we were able to view from our window. TV worked here with multiple channels in English. The bathroom was cramped and the smell from the drain was a little much, not to mention the ants... But this was probably one of the more comfortable places on our tour.

Service: The staff were all quite friendly here, the front desk staff spoke great English and were helpful with directions and instruction.

Food: Breakfast is just OK here. The bread was stale both mornings and the bugs flying around the fruit was a little off-putting, but there are plenty of cereals and juices if you can't swallow the other stuff. The wait staff wasn't very good about putting down new place settings, so you'll find yourself scrounging for clean wares if you're eating later in the morning.

Location: 2 different taxi drivers had a hard time finding this place, so bring a map/business card/phone number. It's also located a bit of a walk away from town, but it keeps the noise level to a minimum.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JofLA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

This was a nice, if basic, hotel, with clean rooms and a typical-for-the-price breakfast. The location is quite nice, a bit off the beaten path the quieter neighborhood of Selva Alegre, but still close enough to walk into town or Yanahuara during the day. Sliding doors from the room to their garden were nice too. There were a few disappointments, however:
- booked airport pickup, but nobody showed up for over an hour. Calls were answered with "someone's coming", but we eventually had to have someone at iPeru in the airport help us sort it. To be fair, they apologized for the confusion afterward, but didn't comp us anything.
- Hot water was not reliable for two people to get ready in the morning.
- Breakfast buffet supposedly runs till 10:30, but was often cleared before 10.
- Maybe this is common in Peru, but we were woken up by early morning departures here too.
This would probably not be our first choice if we were to return to Arequipa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drugagainstwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

Stayed two nights at this place on my GAP tour of Peru last year. Its perhaps the best hotel I stayed in ony my entire trip (although there were other decent places I stayed in Peru). The location is perfect. While the city center was about a 15 minute walk, the area looked pretty safe to walk around in (in case your not sure, a taxi ride in Arequipa is very cheap) and theres a pretty city park not too far away.
The rooms are tops for a three star hotel. Very clean, lots of room, comfortable beds, a very large bathtub, and the TV has a huge amount of channels, including CNN. Great service too, with a helpfull staff who filled me in on the best restraunts in town and provided maps of the city. Only drawback was that the breakfast bar could have had a bigger selection. So if your looking for a nice small hotel in Arequipa thats not very expensive, you can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derekp308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

Stayed at this property for three nights on a business trip at the recommendation of a colleague when the hotels I generally have stayed at had no room.

Found this hotel to offer an outstanding level of service in all basic areas, and it fully met my expectations.Free Wireless Internet was excellent throughout the property. While breakfast could stand a slight upgrade (i.e. no fruit offered), the current offering, while simple, is well presented.

If you are looking for a Safe, Clean & Efficient hotel in the Arequipa area at a very reasonable price - This hotel may be what you are looking for.

  • Liked — Staff Service, Wireless Internet
  • Disliked — Lack of Restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GG15241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights in July and thought it was a terrific value. We liked the residential neighborhood near the park and maybe a 15 minute nice walk down to the historic center of Arequipa. There's a computer with free internet. Staff was helpful and mostly bi-lingual. They printed off my Lan boarding passes for me when I couldn't work my way through the Lan website. Beds were comfortable, shower was great, place was clean as a whistle. There's a small lovely interior courtyard with a couple tables for drinks and snacks outside. Breakfast (which included scrambled eggs) was included.

A bargain! Highly recommend.

  • Liked — lovely courtyard
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

great little hotel, The staff was very friendly and helpful. the location was good in what seemed to be a nice area of Arequipa with a very nice park within a block of the hotel.
we were able to walk downtown in about 15 minutes and it was only about 2 soles for a taxi home if you were worn out.
the rooms were a nice size all opening on to a very nice private garden with chairs and umbrellas

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papa_JCalgaryCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

What a beautiful hotel. Service is great. Staff is very friendly and eager to help you. Easy access to several areas in Arequipa. Would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marpoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corregidor
Hotel Corregidor
#47 of 96 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mint Hotel
Mint Hotel
#16 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Andenes Hotel
Andenes Hotel
#54 of 96 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casona Terrace Hotel
Casona Terrace Hotel
#31 of 96 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel AQP
Casona Plaza Hotel AQP
#22 of 96 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meliana

Property: Hotel Meliana
Address: Av M. Ugarteche 309, Arequipa 28225, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Meliana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3 star hotel with superior quality located on the best residential area. We are just a few minutes away fron downtown, we have a excellent climate, calm and we take the best care of our guest. we also have the best infrastructure in a suitable atmosphere, great gardens and warm environments added to the comfort that is our reason to become incomparable, we wait for your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Meliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meliana Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing