We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel of our 2 week trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Torres de Ugarte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Torres de Ugarte
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best hotel of our 2 week trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

We travel "budget" in general - we look for clean hotels with private baths and for the most part paid between $45 -60/night for 3 people. We'd had some great experiences and some bad experiences along the way, and when we got to Las Torres, we were in for a treat.
The room, a garden patio room, was spacious -especially for having 3 beds, had enough outlets for all 3 of us to charge our batteries at the same time, had bath towels and hand towels, soap for each of us, a TV with satellite channels, free internet in the lobby that went at a normal pace, and breakfast that included eggs, coffee, bread, ham, cheese and more (crepes with fruit one day, avocado and tomatoes another day). The water was hot- for all 3 showers and the water pressure was perfect. The staff were as friendly as friendly could be. The owner told us about places to eat, places to visit, where to get a cab, etc. When we left, she said she was going out and wouldn't be back when we took the cab to the airport and gave us hugs and kisses goodbye! There is a gorgeous rooftop patio that overlooks the city (just keep going up one more flight after the breakfast room). It's only a couple blocks from the Plaza de Armas (city center square). While we were there they were doing construction on a nearby road, so it was a little dusty outside.

We paid $45/night and stayed for 2 nights. It was the best decision we could have made. We spoke Spanish, but I did hear the woman speaking English to some other travelers, so I'm sure she's fluent in both.

It was at the end of our trip (we'd been to Lima, Cusco, Inka trail, Puno, Chivay then Arequipa) and a perfect end at that. We were able to print our boarding pass for 1 sol/page at the front desk and were about 20 min. from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank life_learner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    160
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
100
201
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

The staff were amazingly helpful, the room and hotel clean and comfortable,and the breakfast ample. If I was to return to Arequipa, I'd be making another booking.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhnmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

This was the hardest hostel to make a booking coz they didnt have a website. But we were more than glad we found it.

Beautiful! almost like a 3 star hotel. We opted for a private bedroom with private bathroom near the garden. Very clean, and aesthetically pleasing. Clean bathroom good hot water pressure. We didnt get a chance to eat breakfast so wont comment on it.

Location is great, 2 blocks from the main square, good restaurants, supermarket and all the travel agents.

Added perk - they have a massage therapist next door called Nancy, its 30 soles for 45 mins and is totally worth it. She is one of the best i have seen in years, very skilled. We went there after Colca and I cant tell you that it was worth 830pm appointment.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smartalec2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

The title says it all, this was a great place to stay in beautiful Arequipa. Everything was simply perfect, the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and the breakfast was really great. A great hotel in a great city!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwidelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encinitas ca.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

this is not a hostal,thats for sure. great hotel and very very good service. only one night but they helped us out with many things. from the owner to the stafff,kudos to you. the room was nice,the breakfast was excellent and the attention to detail very good. job well done,thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schwegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed in one of the patio rooms which was very pleasant. Great shower and nice room - very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. As with other hotels we left our bags here whilst on a side trip. Location is great - a short walk to the main plaza. There is also free internet at the hotel. Very much recommended. Only thing we didn't like was the rate they gave us for nuevos soles so if you can pay in US dollars all the better!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChickChack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuchu, Japan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

The location is just off Plaza de Armas, so a little quiet place. The lady at the reception was very kind and spoke good English. Room I stayed was a little small but very tidy and clean. It was only about $25/night for single room with TV and hot shower. I did not have any problem at all.
I stayed some hotels during my Peru trip, and this place would be the best place among them, I highly recommend this place, and if I have a chance to go back to Peru and Arequipa, I definitely stay this place again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masahisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.5 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#9 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Torres de Ugarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Torres de Ugarte

Property: Las Torres de Ugarte
Address: 401 a Ugarte Street | Behind of Santa Catalina Monastery, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Torres de Ugarte 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Las Torres de Ugarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing