We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and ample”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Torres de Ugarte
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked a double room in the main complex and was upgraded to a triple not a problem for us. Room was clean and comfortable met all of our needs.

The garden was lovely with a resident tortoise, who seemed a friendly chap. The staff were all friendly and were a lifesaver when booking onward coach travel, they really went out of thier way to help us. On checkout they even have a shower room to freshen up if you have a late connection.

Room Tip: The rooms in the garden appeared to look nicer on the outside and if like me you are a smoker, will...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woxx823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Las Torres de Ugarte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 508 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is very close to the Plaza de Armas, and just next door to the Santa Catalina Monastery. There are two parts of the hotel, the old one in the garden (two rows of one floor buildings facing each other with the garden in the middle) and the new three storey high block in front. We had a room in the old part, very quiet and nicely decorated. It's a simple hotel but it has everything it needs, warm water, comfy beds, tea and coffee at the reception, wonderful view from the top terrace, beautiful garden with tables to sit at, warm blankets for the night, friendly personnel at the reception. Good breakfast, though basic.

We also used their transfer service from the airport, very prompt and safe. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Good:
-Nicely kept
-Great location
-The staff are very helpful
-WiFi is great

Bad:
-The wooden stairs look nice but sound awful when they wake you up very early in the morning with what sounds like elephants stampeding.
-The building site next door has a metal temporary roof that is very noisy in the wind.
-The roof garden door also bangs in the wind which kept us awake from 6am on our rest day.
-The walls are thin so noise from other rooms such as alarms, doors closing and walking about is crisp and clear.
-We did not have hot water for a shower when we had to leave early for our Colca Canyon trip (5:30am).

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for a few days in Arequipa prior to going on to Cuzco and the Inca Trail. The accommodations were spartan but very comfortable and is in a good location just outside the main square.

The staff was particularly friendly and helpful and we were able to keep our things while taking a side trip to Colca Canyon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_Canasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Close to the Santa Catalina Monastery and 5 mins walk to Fransisco with the pick of the restaurants and bars you could not be located better. Breakfast here is great - we stayed 3 days and the standard Peruvian breakfast is complemented with a different dish each day e.g. fruit, pancakes etc.
Wifi was very good and the communal area at the rear was good with garden furniture (and a pet turtle!)
Staff were very helpful with maps, tips and got us a taxi. They also did our laundry and was ready the next day. Lots of hot water also and the hotel is very clean and safe. The front door is constantly locked and you need to ring a bell to get in.
The lobby has free computers but there is a 1s charge to print a page. Also there is free tea & coffee there.
The hotel is very tidy and the only reason I deduct a star is that the rooms appear slightly dated. the decor was old in the room and the carpet was probably there a few years but as I say it was very tidy and no problems there.
If I were in Arequipa again I would not hesitate to stay here again and at $46 for a double (matromonial) B&B it's great value.
From Plaza Armas it's less than 10 mins easy walk

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in a room off the patio. The patio is beautiful. The room was clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable with plenty of blankets as it was cold at night. We were impressed with the unlimited hot water and water pressure in the shower. The buffet breakfast was adequate and they made eggs to order. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only minor complaint we had was that they refused to accept a 50 dollar bill as payment because it had a small tear and they insisted that even the bank wouldn't accept it. Although I know that is not the case in Lima, maybe it is different in Arequipa. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The patio rooms are quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely hotel practically next to the Santa Catalina monastery and within a short walk of anywhere in the old city. The hotel can arrange a very reasonably priced pickup at (and drop to) the airport - they get a driver they trust to pick you up and you pay directly. We had a garden room (for four) that was cold until they brought in a heater, but everything else was fine. Breakfast was good with a wide variety including fresh fruit and freshly squeezed juice. Great staff and service too.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok-Seenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 101 in Arequipa
1,094 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.5 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 101 in Arequipa
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 101 in Arequipa
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Torres de Ugarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Torres de Ugarte

Address: 401 a Ugarte Street | Behind of Santa Catalina Monastery, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $57 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Torres de Ugarte 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Las Torres de Ugarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing