We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of La Gruta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Gruta Hotel
Ranked #38 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We spent two weeks traveling around Peru, at times finding accommodations to be less than desirable/ a bit uncomfortable. We found La Gruta in our Lonely Planet and I can only say that it vastly exceeded our expectations. It was a great price and offered fantastic facilities. The staff was helpful and friendly. Upon returning to the U.S., we realized that we left our camera charger behind in the room. Upon emailing the hotel, the owner offered to ship it to us at no cost!

Quite simply, if you are staying in Arequipa, this is where you should stay! It is only a short walk (through a park) from the main shopping/dining district on San Fransisco avenue and a few blocks from the main plaza. Great place. I highly recommend.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jwham12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    47
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
35
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2009

The service is excellent with unforgattable breakfast. Carmen, the administrator, and her crew is always available to give you advices, suggest where to go and to eat and organize your visits. Rooms are well maintened and clean and hotel is located in a quite area, near to a garden but enought close to the center of the city to allow you to take a short walk. If you go to Arequipa, do not miss a tour to Colca valley.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed for two nights here. As others have said, it takes several minutes to walk into the central area, but it's really not a big deal. The hotel is located in a little gated area, which seems good for safety. We were afraid walking through the park to return to it, which we did against advice, although nothing happened. The hotel booked us a trip to Colca Canyon, which I really did not like very much. The tour was bilingual, except it was clear that the leader was not the best English speaker, and the tour booked us into an undisclosed hotel that turned out to be quite bad. One of our rooms at La Gruta was very nice and the other was not so nice, so you might even test the waters with them to see if you could angle for the better rooms. The hotel had a lovely garden adjoining it.

I had an odd experience with the staff, in that they did not speak English, and for some reason, even though my Spanish was sufficient elsewhere, they could not or did not want to understand me here. I ended up writing out a lot of notes to them. You might have some difficulties if you can speak only English. I forgot my cell phone in the room while we were in Colca, and when I called, they reliably picked it up and saved it until I got back.

  • Liked — Lovely outdoor garden, quiet
  • Disliked — Carpeting old, poor tour service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClevelandTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Stayed two nights. The rooms are large, the breakfast was decent and the hotel itself is very clean, spacious and comfortable.
The gardens are wonderful and the neighborhood is secure. The noise from the Military school nearby is sometimes a distraction but not constantly.
For the most part the hotel is clean, I did find a 2 ft long hair in bed with me one night. I have very short hair so it was kinda gross.
We walked from La Gruta to Plaza de Armas as well as the monestary a few times it is so close and a beautiful walk. Only about 15 mninutes.
The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Would definately recomend. The location is the best.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2009

My family and I loved our stay at La Gruta Hotel. It is a quiet, comfortable, and spacious hotel, especially, if you stay in a suite ($65 a night). The prices are very reasonable. This is a family friendly hotel. The staff is EXCELLENT, very friendly, and the service was great! The continental breakfast is very good and the restaurant has a variety to choose from. The hotel has a beautiful garden that is spacious and a lot of fun for a toddler to roam around in. We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. It is a 15-20 min. walk to the Plaza de Armas, but taxis are not hard to find during the day and if at night the hotel will call you one. We felt very safe at La Gruta, although, it is recommended not to walk through the park at night that is close to the hotel. We had absolutely no problemas while we were visiting Arequipa. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with children even toddlers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCR146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights in the room at the back of the garden and it was just wonderful, felt like being at home, super friendly staff, very reasonably priced. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaj_and_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2008

Altogether, I spent five nights in total at La Gruta. Being in the middle of a quiet residential area proved to be a solid guarantee for a good night rest. The rooms have clean and comfortable beds, and all the other room facilities are well above adequate. Good hot showers!

The hotel garden truly is wonderful and tranquil. It even was accessible directly from my own room! By far, it is the best place to read a book, or relax with a cool drink after a long day of sightseeing in the beautiful city center of Arequipa, which only is a 15 minute walk away.

The entire hotel staff is extremely friendly and helpful, and offer quality service. All the time, they made sure I had a great time as their valued guest. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone who visits Arequipa!

  • Liked — The green and lush garden
  • Disliked — Distance to city center (although a nice walk)
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ReneG1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
1.4 mi away
Inkanto Hotel
Inkanto Hotel
#23 of 99 in Arequipa
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alwa Hotel Boutique
Alwa Hotel Boutique
#37 of 99 in Arequipa
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Corregidor
Hotel Corregidor
#39 of 99 in Arequipa
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
5.1 mi away
El Lago Estelar Hotel
El Lago Estelar Hotel
#20 of 99 in Arequipa
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel la Cuesta de Cayma
Hotel la Cuesta de Cayma
#28 of 99 in Arequipa
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Gruta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Gruta Hotel

Property: La Gruta Hotel
Address: Calle La Gruta 304 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Gruta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel with beautiful gardens is located in an elegant residential area, yet only a few minutes away from the colonial city and commercial area. La Gruta has a helpful and friendly atmosphere, with large clean and very comfortable carpeted rooms. Highly recommended by the Lonely Planet - Peru, in its fourth edition of March 2000 (p.199), among the top-end places to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Gruta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Gruta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing