We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate cooking course”

Chaqchao Organic Chocolates
Ranked #2 of 11 Dessert in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Chaqchao is an Organic Bean to Bar Coffee and Chocolate cafe. We offer dessert options to go along with your drink choice which change daily. On site you can see how we make our organic chocolate bars and participate in chocolate making classes. Along with the coffee we have a bar section where we sell Artisinal Peruvian beer in bottles and on tap. Our Balcony is the perfect place to chill and watch the sunset. From 5pm we are also serving Wood Oven Fire Pizza including Vegan, Artisan Bacon, Dairy Free and Quinoa options
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chocolate cooking course”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was a great venue to learn to make chocolate. The owner has a clear passion and is very knowledgeable about the production of chocolate. It was a fun and interactive session where we produced our own chocolate by the end of the session. Chaqchao is also a cafe and mini shop. We didn't drink or eat here but it looked great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    157
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Informative and Delicious!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was very informative as we learned a lot about the beginnings about cacao and the current use of cacao. We made a native drink and some delicious dark chocolate bars! It was S/. 60 and definitely worth it. The class was supposed to be an hour and a half, but was three hours. It was okay with us though because it is a relaxing atmosphere and we met some people to talk with in our group. We only wished they had stools to sit on at the bar because it was a lot of standing for three hours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emdells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaqchaoChocolates, General Manager at Chaqchao Organic Chocolates, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your feedback! We always appreciate it! I wanted to address a couple of the concerns in your review.

First, our class is advertised as being 2 1/2 hours long, and we usually let people know that it can take up to 3 hours depending on the size of the class and the number signed up. However, it is possible that the employee that signed you up misspoke--we have an international staff, and Spanish and English are second languages for some. I will be sure to pass this along to them so they are telling everyone the correct time in the future!

Second, we agree about the stools! We are in the process of constructing some awesome bar stools made from recycled pallets and burlap fabric from the bags of cacao. We are very excited to have them--sorry that they didn't arrive in time for your class!

Thank you again for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with our shop.

Sincerely,

Carrie Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nürnberg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“quaqutastic experience!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A wonderful staff and supérbe ingredients made our DIY chocolate course to an unforgettable Arequipa experience!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank mako81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
401 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
“Good for Chocolates and Bars”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I really enjoyed a couple of great artisan beers and some awesome salted chocolate at this place. I really liked the balcony overlooking the street with outdoor seating. They also show the World Cup which is great. Brilliant music and awesome staff too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaqchaoChocolates, General Manager at Chaqchao Organic Chocolates, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our shop! We always appreciate feed back, and are very happy that you had a nice time at Chaqchao. Best of luck with your travels! We hope to see you back in Arequipa again in the future.

Sincerely,

Carrie Anderson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima Region, Peru
2 reviews
“Very nice sunday afternoon”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

My friends and I went on a weekend trip to Arequipa from Lima. On our last day, we ran into this nice shop and enjoyed very nice coffee and even took a chocolate making class which was very interesting. We've got to try cacao from its beans and then learn the whole process until it becomes an actual chocolate bar -that we also had the chance to mix with almods, quinoa, maras salt and a number of things. It was a surprisingly sweet end for our fun trip. I would come back any time with no doubt. Very worth it and affordable since the length of the class is 3 hours!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Laura Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaqchao Organic Chocolates also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Chaqchao Organic Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing