We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent chocolate, limited menu”

Chaqchao Organic Chocolates
Ranked #2 of 12 Dessert in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $2
Cuisines: Cafe, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Chaqchao is an Organic Bean to Bar Coffee and Chocolate cafe. We offer dessert options to go along with your drink choice which change daily. On site you can see how we make our organic chocolate bars and participate in chocolate making classes. Along with the coffee we have a bar section where we sell Artisinal Peruvian beer in bottles and on tap. Our Balcony is the perfect place to chill and watch the sunset. From 5pm we are also serving Wood Oven Fire Pizza including Vegan, Artisan Bacon, Dairy Free and Quinoa options
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent chocolate, limited menu”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

The chocolates and desserts were very good. However, I missed a broader range of beverages such as juices or teas -they only had coffee and chocolates.... and beers ??
I specially recommend the -mini- raspberry cupcake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaqchaoChocolates, General Manager at Chaqchao Organic Chocolates, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hello!

We are so glad you enjoyed our chocolate and desserts! So sorry that you found our menu limited, however, we prefer to focus on several key items in order to provide you with the highest quality that we can offer. Currently, our menu does feature chocolate, coffees, desserts, and beers, which we find compliment each other well. We do also offer several different teas, both iced and hot, as well as smoothies, bottled drinks, and coconut water. Next time you stop by we hope you let one of our staff know if you prefer something that you cannot locate on our menu, and I am sure they can find something to satisfy your interests!

Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you by again soon!

All the best,

Carrie Anderson
General Manager
Chaqchao Chocolates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    157
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naramata, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delish and informative!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stopped by this little chocolate shop and enjoyed locally crafted beer on the balcony, overlooking the street.
The chocolates were delicious and the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Logan from San Francisco(thanks again Logan!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fififinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic chocolate making classes”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I just recently did a chocolate making class that this café now offers and it was not only fun but really informative, I learnt some pretty interesting things about chocolate....and got to take heaps home with me which was a great bonus. I have a ton of respect for what the owners and staff do now that i understand how much work and passion goes into 1 bar of chocolate, incredible!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koruperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Valentine's Day chocolate making class”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I did two chocolate making classes back to back. One is the regular chocolate history and making class where you end up with 70% cacao chocolates to take away with your selected fillings as well as a knowledge of the product.

However being Valentine's Day Javier, the owner, organised a Bon Bon making class where we made a milk chocolate filled bon bon (obviously in the shape of a love heart) supplemented and aided by a glass of French Muscadet. Fillings and flavours were selected and then sealed in with a layer of milk chocolates. Delicious although rather a lot of chocolate was consumed in the process. Can't recommend it enough it was really good fun and educational. See the photos.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaqchaoChocolates, General Manager at Chaqchao Organic Chocolates, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hello Katherine!

Thank you so much for reviewing us! We had a great time with you in our classes, and the next day at our Anti-Valentine's Day party.

If you end up creating something with your bottle-top collection, do send us a picture on Facebook, we would love to see one of our beer tops decorating a home in Uruguay!

Best of luck in your travels, and we hope that you if you find yourself in Arequipa again you will pay us a visit.

Cheers!
Carrie and Javier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Finally, amazing dark chocolate in Arequipa!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Living in Arequipa as a dark chocolate lover, dark chocolate was a staple in my luggage coming back from trips to the US. Until now! Finally, we have dark chocolate here! And, amazing dark chocolate at that - creamy, delicious, and with great add-ins like red quinoa! My husband is a white chocolate fan and says their white chocolate is like nothing he's ever tasted before - he is addicted. I just took their new chocolate making workshop with friends and it was a blast - really interesting facts I never knew about chocolate, and we made our own bars with the add-ins we wanted. They make all of their bars from the bean with nothing but cacao, cacao butter and panela (pure, unprocessed sugar). Yum.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chatts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chaqchao Organic Chocolates also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Chaqchao Organic Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing