We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Quiet and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cabildo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Cabildo
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After a long day travelling and sightseeing our coach took us to this lovely hotel in a very quiet area of Arequipa. The reception staff were highly efficient and soon had us settled in one of their very comfortable rooms. We ate in the restaurant that evening and enjoyed a quite varied menu with a very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is a good few minutes walk from the main square in Arequipa so we asked the reception staff about taxis. They were very helpful and even advised us how much it would cost so we weren't 'ripped off'(5soles), about the equivalent of £1.20 for two people for a good 20 minutes ride. Worth paying to be away from the bustle of the main town. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    69
    30
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
51
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel fo 2 nights with an intermission. The staff was helpfull and welcoming. The rooms were fine so were the beds.
My only reservation is the restorant - boring, the kitchen sent adifferent dish then ordered. As our stay in Ariquipa was short I cannot say a thing about the location. One thing for sure, not close enough to restaurants to choose from.
Their distance from the center has one merit - no Diesel stink/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

There were few other guests when we arrived, but the welcome was warm and the room was clean and comfortable. It's quite a schlep to the centre of Arequipa but the hotel's restaurant served up a passable meal and the very friendly waitress was keen to please. A good overnight stop.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PangeOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, NZ
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A minus could be the hotel is quite a walk from the main town plaza but it is in a nice quiet area with only the occasional dog barking at night. The room was adequate and clean. The breakfast was excellent even when we had to leave very early they made sure we had everything we needed. We ate in the restaurant for two nights and found it on the expensive side but the meals we had were cordon bleau. The staff were pleasant and eager to assist. We left our bags in our room when we left for Colca Canyon and they were still there when we returned the next day, so we had the same room for another night. The view wasn't fantasic, it looked out to another side of the hotel but we were only there to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Differently they has been exposed on a plaque in its front door, it seems more a 3 star hotel than 5 one. But it is a good place to stay in the city. Its facilities are brand new and well conserved, good cofee break in the mornings, large beds and clean bathrooms. It seems to has a swiming pool but hasn't. The service in general manner is very good (as most people in Peru) but the price is a little bit above comparing what it provides against others of same level in Perú. The location is quite far from historical downtown, but taxis is very cheap in town. If you do not like to be in hostels and do not need to stay in a paradise resorts & spas, this will be the place in Arequipa.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneLouise_Marcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely modern hotel - huge bed with walk in shower with great water force. Buffet breakfast with omelets cooked to order. Pleasant terraced garden and a patio and gym on the third floor.
Coca Tea available free on tap in reception. Ariquipa is at 2500m but if you are heading to the Colca Canyon or Puno at 3900/4000m altitude sickness can be a problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your 'fix' of free Coca Tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minett, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We thought the hotel was great. Only complaint was that the room was a little cold at night. Good location close to some great restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
#9 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mint Hotel
Mint Hotel
#15 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Andina Select Arequipa
Casa Andina Select Arequipa
#18 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
0.9 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.7 mi away
qp Hotels Arequipa
qp Hotels Arequipa
#38 of 92 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cabildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cabildo

Property: El Cabildo
Address: M. Ugarteche 411 | Selva Alegre, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Cabildo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, ETB, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your El Cabildo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cabildo Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing