We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel, but don't count on the Wifi”
Review of Tierrasur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tierrasur Hotel
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice hotel, but don't count on the Wifi”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel the last 4 times I have traveled to Arequipa. Here is a summary of my experiences:
PROS: Clean, safe and ideally located. The rooms are spacious, there is hot water available and adequately comfortable beds. The hotel staff is kind although not necessarily proficient in their work. Extra patience is needed for getting things done, or especially when checking out and having to work up a receipt. Not so great at English, but they are patient with those who don't speak Spanish. There a few nice extras with towel designs on the beds and some furniture available for sitting on in the rooms.

CONS: Lots of traffic and dogs barking which can make for a difficult sleep if unaccustomed to noise. WIFI IS ALWAYS AN ISSUE. I travel for business, and have never been very successful in getting a reliable connection. It comes and goes, with limited predictability and reliability. Even when I could connect, it was spotty at best unless right in the lobby and even then it was slow and broken. It looks like right now there is some expansion of the facility, which makes for dust and noise, but I think will be a plus in the not too distant future. The breakfast offered has something to be desired, but is ok. It is important to know that there are eggs that can be ordered for breakfast (you would not know that other than asking)- this improves breakfast tremendously, but I only knew that after my 10th day staying at this hotel.

I would recommend this hotel, as long as you know in advance that you may have to do your internet elsewhere. Price is right and the other plusses outweigh the minuses.

Room Tip: Higher seems to be better as it is away from the street noise and the rooms seem to be a bit more sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    29
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
13
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
368 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Really good place with Internet, breakfast included and perfect location near Plaza de Armas. Friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for 101!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The hotel surpassed my expectations. I stayed for two nights and the staff were always very helpful, serviceminder and willing to answer questions patiently and in a good mood. They gave me tips about restaurants and sightseeing. Very clean and centrally located, Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHTlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

clean, smiles at the reception, speak english, some rooms are fantastic, especially in the back of the hotel, cheap prices, excellent.

Stayed November 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank EricM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima - Peru
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My room was in the second floor. It was comfortable and clean but the bad thing is the room had a smell like a mold. I`m an allergic person so it was horrible.
The hotel has a free internet access in the lobby, the food of the restaurant was good. It is located seven blocks from the main plaza. The people who works there was helpful

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty_T_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Clean and comfortable hotel with good location two blocks from main plaza.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neildean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.5 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#10 of 170 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Portal de San Lazaro
El Portal de San Lazaro
#2 of 170 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierrasur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierrasur Hotel

Property: Tierrasur Hotel
Address: Consuelo 210, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierrasur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tierrasur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing