We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, Strange staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Maison Plaza
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I found this hotel by passing, and stayed 2 nights. Hotel is located in main square, so easy to access anywhere. It is old hotel, complex architecture, but comfortable enough. The customer could have breakfast at the outside terrace with view of plaza de armas. The strange thing happened at the breakfast time. The waitress (also she cooks) served fried egg and told us "Usually the breakfast use only 1 egg, but I used 2 eggs. So you have to pay me 1sol each." It was big surprise because we never ask for it…We don't mind pay that amount, but anyway we complained "We don't ask for it." Then she changed her mind and said "Forget it, you don't need to pay anything. But keep it secret for the reception." It was just strange situation. She might want tips?

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 34 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Arequipa is a beautiful city, full of history and tradition. The main attraction is the city's main plaza. Hotel Maison Plaza is located in front of it.
The hotel has a variety of rooms, so I will recommend to be especific and explain your expectations. If you are arriving late to Arequipa and you want to have a late start, then go for the rooms to the inside. You will not get a window, but you will be away from the noisy streets. If you want to have some view, then request one with that condition. There is fantastic room (Hotel Suite) located at the top of the building with a view to the plaza. If it is available, go for it !!! Is one of those good-nice-cheap deals.
Internet conection was fast and stable. No issues making skype calls from your computer. Your smart phone will work great with the WIFI. There is plenty of hot water in the bathroom and rooms are generally big.
Breakfast is small (basic), but you can sit outside, in the "Portal" and enjoy the view. I recommend to improve the food offered at breakfast and they listen and wrote a note to consider it for the future. Room rates start at 110 soles / 40 dollars (cash), which is cheap compare to other hotels around the area.
If you are looking for something with more service, newer decoration and more details, then go accross the street and pay 3 times more for a smallest, basic room.

Room Tip: Go for the hotel suite, you can get this room for 180 Soles or 65 dollars. Nice room, great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cesar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We are retired world travellers. The hotel was fine, the rooms were great and the position was amazing. We understood from reading the last reviews that we could sit out on the balcony and people watch with a glass of wine. This is NOT CORRECT. The doors leading out to the balcony were locked. To get out we had to call reception and they came and unlocked the door. Then they locked the doors again so we were locked out. There were no chairs to sit on so we pushed the button to get back in however no one answered therefore we were stuck out there. Eventually we went through the next door restaurant and back up to out reception. We asked for chairs and a table and were given them begrudgingly and then they locked the door again. We decided this was not acceptable. We stayed one night and then found a wonderful hotel with an outside deck and views to the mountain and one block from the Plaza.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We are retired world travelers on a budget. We rate budget hotels. We expect budget hotels to have some flaws in exchange for low prices.

Maison Plaza is really a nice hostel right on the main plaza of Arequipa. Rooms were clean. plenty of hot water. Daily maid service. Toilets flushed. Internet connection was good. Breakfast was a bit spartan though. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a hotel second floor balcony overlooking the plaza that is great to sit and have a glass of wine and watch people. The plaza itself is one of the nicest we've seen in Peru. There are plenty of second floor balcony restaurants steps from the hostel.

The only problem was the noise. We had an interior room and the noise from the reception area drifted up to our room. After 8pm to 7am though the room was very quiet.

All in all, we would recommend this hostel because of all the pluses we mentioned. The location is really excellent and the price was right. We stayed 5 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ish_Kabibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

the rooms are good and spacious, also the bathroom. it's very clean. there's tv in the room and free wi-fi. our room was on the street side and a bit noisy. what made this place very good value for money was the location, right on the plaza, you can sit outside upstairs with a view on the plaza, also the simple breakfast is served there, what makes it a perfect beginning of the day. staff is friendly but doesn't speak English.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blade29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valenti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
#88 of 101 in Arequipa
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 101 in Arequipa
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina
0.0 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 101 in Arequipa
1,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 101 in Arequipa
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Maison Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Maison Plaza

Address: Portal de San Agustin 143, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $45 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Maison Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property offers comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi just 1 block from the main square of Arequipa, in the center of the historic town. Maison Plaza offers free private parking nearby. Rooms at the Maison come with cable TV and a private bathroom with shower. Some offer views of the cathedral and the main square of the city. A continental breakfast is served daily with tropical fruits. The hotel provides currency exchange and luggage storage. The tour desk can offer tips for visiting the area and help organize a shuttle service to Rodriguez Ballon Airport, located 8 km. Our customers say that this part of Arequipa is his favorite, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hostal Maison Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing