We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - as long as you don't get one of their tiny singles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Reviewed August 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed in a lovely, huge double room with lots of huge windows, nice bed, TV etc. My mother, however, was put in a dungeon of a single, with no windows, tiny, and still had to pay premium price. Our room was great, hers wasn't at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmbkmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 64 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2009

Los Balcones is not fancy but its good value, with good high-ceilinged rooms with balconies overlooking the cathedral and a street with views of the mountains (our room had a view towards the mountains and the cathedral since it was on the corner), and a nice old-world feel to the rooms (they're not standard hotel boxes). Beds are comfortable, and the rooms are dark (window shutters), though a little noisy in the evening from the traffic on the street. Very close to downtown and the main square.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Spent 5 days here after an unexpected visit to the medical clinic.

Room #18 was a triple, huge, with a large bathroom and balcony overlooking the street. Even better, it was separated by the other rooms so no one heard our screaming children!

good internet connection in breakfast room, very convenient location!

Paid s/ 135 for triple.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kottbullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Stayed at the hotel for 5 days, initially in a double room, then moved to a single. The double room was spacious and clean with a balcony facing the street and with clear view of the volcanoes that overlook Arequipa. The single room was an internal room, with a window facing the inner courtyard. This room was a little noisy in the morning with people going back and forth to have breakfast. The rooms were clean. People at front desk were very attentive. Had my clothes washed for a good price. They stored my bags for 2 days without charge when I went on a hiking trip to Colca Canyon.
They even let me take a shower when I came back from my hiking trip before taking a bus to Nazca. An ATM and pharmacy right in the corner, up the street.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cabriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

nice hostel one block from the main square, we got it with the taxi driver... and the receptionist tell us, "if you come back alone will give you a discount" we did it of course, the DWB $29 (rate was$35) american breakfast, internet wifi included, big and clean rooms with nice views to the towers of the cathedral. friendly staff there...and they can help you booking tours in the city and colca canyon. certenly if you are one block from the plaza there are some noises in the street but the rooms are quite... you can check the hostal in this page [--] and they blog in hi5 for the friends =) losbalconeshotel.hi5...or something like that... recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank evvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2006

The hotel staff was very accomodating. The accomodations were very standard and clean with very spacious rooms. It was a great location and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2006

Our taxi driver took us here after La Casa de Melgar was fully booked. Great location, close to Plaza de Armas. Friendly staff. Balcony had a nice view of the street and Plaza. The huge matrimonial room was clean and had timber floors. U could smell it had just been painted. Beds were (there were 2 doubles) comfy enough but the pillows could have been made of rocks. Nice night time shower but morning shower was luke warm with no pressure. Room at night was very dark but you wake up early (5am) to car alarms, people dragging things down the cobble stone street below and hotel staff scrubbing (6.30am)and vacuming the hallway floor. It is made of lino or something so u can hear everything. Breakfast was rolls, jam and juice. If it wasnt so noisy we would have stayed but we checked out after 1 night.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
#89 of 101 in Arequipa
69 reviews
0.7 mi away
Terramistica Hotel Illari
Terramistica Hotel Illari
#55 of 101 in Arequipa
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel PiruWasi
Hotel PiruWasi
#56 of 101 in Arequipa
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Mercedes Hostal
Las Mercedes Hostal
#45 of 101 in Arequipa
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palladium Hotel Boutique
Palladium Hotel Boutique
#47 of 101 in Arequipa
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina

Address: Moral 217, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $28 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing