We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bet.”
Review of Hostal La Reyna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Reyna
Ranked #45 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My friend and I stayed at La Reyna on our return from a Colca Canyon tour. We were staying at another hotel in Arequipa before then (La Posada del Montonero). We left our luggage at La Reyna for 2 nights, with the promise that we would stay at the hotel when we got back.

The receptionist didn't speak English, and we spoke "travel-guide" Spanish. Somehow we were able to understand each other.

Three or four blocks North of the Plaza de Armas and directly across from the Santa Catalina convent, the location of La Reyna is phenomenal. If you climb to the highest rooftop patio of the hotel, you can see inside the convent. There are even some chairs and tables for you to relax and enjoy the view. You can see the Western end of Arequipa, the Plaza de Armas and the surrounding volcanoes. There was a black-out downtown while we were up there, so we even saw the stars from this patio.

The hotel itself is odd. It's a very Spanish building, with a courtyard and rooms that lookout into the courtyard. Narrow stairs. A labyrinth of stairs and hallways. Our room was modest, on the second floor, with two futon mattress beds and a private bathroom. Warm water. A window that looked into the courtyard and the receptionist's office. We could hear him sing to himself (comforting more than annoying).

I would stay there if I was to return to Arequipa.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2007

Modest but comfortable accomodation!
Very nice people, happy to help despite the language barrier, hostal located 5min walk from Plaza de Armas (next to Santa Catalina Monastery), lagguage storage, hot water, delicious bananna pancake (only 2soles)!
no laundry.
paid 10$ for double matrimonio!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pakaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FritCaballero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Céline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lespatatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andru-tuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres du dernier étage sur la terrasse, pour profiter de celles-ci comme d'un balcon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FunkyKoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Inkanto Hotel
Inkanto Hotel
#24 of 101 in Arequipa
145 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel PiruWasi
Hotel PiruWasi
#57 of 101 in Arequipa
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 101 in Arequipa
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Asturias
Hotel Asturias
#34 of 101 in Arequipa
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 101 in Arequipa
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Reyna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Reyna

Address: Francisco De Zela 209, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range: $18 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inexpensive accomodation with private rooms, dormitories simples, doubles, triples quadruples. The best view over Arequipa. Where you will appreciate our wonderful volcano and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Reyna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reyna Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing