We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nearly an Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada del Puente

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arequipa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Puente
Save
You added La Posada del Puente to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
214 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nearly an Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel was one of several booked for us by an excellent travel company as part of a private tour. It's a quirky hotel in a good location for walking to the sights of Arequipa. It's almost an oasis from the constant hustle and bustle of the noisy city traffic. Although far from silent, it's sheltered from a good deal of the traffic noise by being below road level and built into the banks of the Rio Chili, so that when the traffic dies down you can hear the gushing of the river turbulence. Our Senior Suite room was well appointed overlooking the gardens and river with views to El Misti, one of the volcanoes overlooking the city. The huge bed was very comfortable. The gardens are very pleasant, full of birdsong from the caged canaries, the resident peacocks and the wild birds. There was even an Alpaca tied up and grazing. However, sitting in the garden required lots of insect repellent spray to ward off the Peruvian midges. The restaurant was well appointed with a wide-ranging menu and a central wood burning chimney. There's free wi-fi throughout. All the staff were very friendly, attentive and spoke good English. I still miss not having tea and coffee making facilities in my room, the only disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
46
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

...except for the sad-looking alpaca on the property that was dirty, skitterish and chained up all the time. Also the songbirds in cages hanging outside certain garden rooms; totally unnecessary. It really is a beautiful property otherwise - just outside the main downtown area (7-10 min walk), by the river (expect lots of bugs though) and with Misti in the background.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish_East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is located as the name suggests by the bridge and although the area is always very busy when you go down into the hotel grounds the noise etc, disappears and it is easy to relax. The grounds overlook the river and have the snow capped mountains as a backdrop and there are lots of seating to enable you to enjoy the views. The hotel has a resident alpaca and peacocks and peahens. The peacock was quite a character and was always trying to get into the garden room when food was served.

There are drinks available all day in the lobby area and you can have a free pisco sour after your arrival. We stayed in a junior suite and found the size and location very good although we understand the standard rooms are smaller. Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel and it is an easy walk to the many sites and restaurants in Arequipa.

Room Tip: choose a suite if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alchrisuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotels of all time. I have stayed here for work and with my wife for a long weekend and found it impossible not to relax when Im here. I love the rooms and have always gotten one that opens out onto the quite terraces in some way. Evenings have to be spent sitting on the lawn and watching the city lights shine across the river without the normal Peruvian city noise. A true oasis.

Room Tip: Make sure to get one of the rooms in the terraces and plan on an evening spent sitting on the lawn w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATeleSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This small hotel is in beautiful grounds very well situated within easy walking distance of the attractions of Arequipa. Although unpromisingly sited on a very busy junction, the layout made the traffic disappear. There are excellent views over the river, lovely gardens to rest in, and very friendly and helpful staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in La Posada del Puente. The location is very special as it is within easy walking distance to the town without the need for taxis, yet it is somehow peaceful and calm.
Lovely, well kept gardens, peacocks and peahens, resident alpacas, abundance of birds. Breakfast is taken in the sunny garden overlooking the river and El Misti. Staff are professional and courteous. We opted for eggs with ham, orange juice and coffee - we were feeling slightly delicate with altitude sickness - it was perfect. Also they make their own bread in an oven in the garden which was quite special.
The room was spacious with a sitting area, bed was comfortable and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Nice linen and toileteries. Fridge and tea/coffee making facilities.
Also complimentary tea/coffee/water in reception.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms face the garden and have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HandC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem in the middle of Arequipa. All the rooms are set around a beautiful large garden, making you feel like you're in the garden of Eden. Every morning you wake up to birds tweeting and the sound of the water running in the river. It is so beautiful I can't put it into words. There are outdoor settings everywhere for you to sit in the garden, and a little group of roaming peacocks! The hotel is set on a river running through Arequipa, so when you're in the hotel you don't hear any traffic, and all you can see is the river, making you feel like you're in the countryside. The rooms were nice, had everything basic that we needed. The restaurant is absolutely gorgeous, and the food we had there was amazing. The breakfast is also beautiful (and the included breakfast is a la carte, which was nice!). The location is also great, as you're only a short walk away from the main plaza. It would be worth going to Arequipa just to stay in this place!

Room Tip: Rooms that open into the garden are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki8959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
La Hosteria
La Hosteria
#18 of 91 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.5 mi away
Andenes Hotel
Andenes Hotel
#52 of 91 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Gruta Hotel
La Gruta Hotel
#26 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Maison d' Elise
La Maison d' Elise
#21 of 91 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Puente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Puente

Property: La Posada del Puente
Address: Esq. Puente Grau/Av. Bolognesi 101, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Arequipa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada del Puente 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 10 minutes from the airport, and very close to the historic monumental and financial center of the city of Arequipa, by the banks of the river Chili, in the landscape painter's reserve by the old Puente Grau (Grau Bridge), which joins the center with the sunny colonial village of Yanahuara. A place extracted from nature and placed in the city, in order to spend those moments of rest that one deserves. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Posada Del Puente Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing