We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel in Arequipa next to the River Chili” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Maison d' Elise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Maison d' Elise
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Arequipa next to the River Chili”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were at this hotel January 29 through January 31, 2013. The staff were very attentive and did their best to accommodate any need we had. We had room #35 and it was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water for showering. There was no exhaust fan in bathroom which made the mirror fog up everytime the shower was used. There was a TV. We had asked for a matrimonial room and were given a room with two beds but each was big enough for two people so it was not a real problem for us. There is a pool which was clean but water was very cold. There is also poolside a rock waterfall which they did not turn on until the last day we were there. The morning breakfast was average at best: Wet scrambled eggs, toast/bread, OJ, cereal and yogurt. There was also bacon. We ate dinner there and the dinner menu and food were above average but nothing to write home about. In front of the hotel is a cute park with live alpacas tied up to a tree. The hotel is within walking distance of the plaza de armas and downtown about 3/4 of a mile or so. The hotel was given a **** rating but I would give it a 3.5 star. Of course there is no A/C in the room so we had to go outside to keep cool a bit. There was an ozone filter machine which we used as a fan to keep cool. Overall I would recomment the hotel. It is nice and clean and with a great staff of people to assist you.

Room Tip: Room #35 gets the morning sun..Try to ask for a room on North or South so you don't get the full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    47
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
13
30
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is nice, full of gardens and different areas. However, we were put in a room that when we opened the door we were hit by a really nasty odor of humidity and mold. The bathroom had black spots all throughout the shower and when I woke up the next morning the socks I was walking with throughout the room were completely dirty, showing that they havent washed or cleaned the carpet in years. Also the ac unit didnt work. Completely overpriced, needless to say we left on the second day and got a much nicer hotel (santa rosa) a block away from the main square for half the price.
Dont waste your money here, maintenance and cleanliness are big issues here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Nasty. At first room seemed ok but just basic. However, on closer inspection it was grubby . The 'mini bar' was a fridge in front of the bed, with a flat screen tv stuck above it (with a wire trailing down the wall .... very attractive!). Above the fridge and tv there was a black dirty mark on the ceiling, a bit like a smoke mark from a fire!! The carpet was old and nasty and had hair on it. the bathroom was in need of a makeover and the plumbing was dire! The toilet didn't flush properly and there was not enough hot water for all three of us to have a shower! This hotel could be nice if it was totally refurbished. The breakfast was not very nice either. We were supposed to stay for 2 night, but fled to another hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfietoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

I notice that the reviews on this hotel are quite old, so want to give a more up-to-date one. We had nothing but good experiences here. The service was excellent, and the staff very friendly and able. They had been recommended by the Hotel Colon in Puno. We stayed one night and then left for one night to the Colca valley (typical) and then returned for one night, Not until we left were we ever asked for a credit card number or anything. These people and Arequipa in general, were hip and urbane in the best sense. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet, and we had a very good nights sleep. The location was a short walk from the city center. The breakfast was excellent. A great spread with a lot of variety. We ate at the restaurant one night and it was fine. I ordered a Pisco Sour in the bar and the bartender took about 10 minutes to make it and did an excellent job. There was also a beautiful parrot who liked being whistled to. I would stay there again if I was ever back in Arequipa

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2006

Stayed in this hotel for 4 weeks in April/ May 2006. Rooms are certainly not fancy, actually some of them really need a renovation, but overall clean. The restaurant is not very inviting, so I never tried dinner there. Breakfast could be much better if the bread was not totally dry and the staff not staring at you while eating. The location is good, just a 10 minute walk away from the Plaza de Armas. Friendly staff.
Overall, I would try a different hotel for my next stay in Arequipa, but for Peruvian standards the Maison d'Elise is an OK place to stay if you don't have too high expectations.

  • Liked — Convenient location, very safe, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Food, renovations not done
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a better room if they put you into a tiny/ short-stay room w/o fridge.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
2.1 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
2.1 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
1.9 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
2.1 mi away
Casa Andina Select Arequipa
1.9 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison d' Elise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison d' Elise

Property: La Maison d' Elise
Address: Ave Bolognesi 104 | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison d' Elise 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Maison d' Elise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison d Elise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing