We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good location, but ask for room away from the roosters!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed here with our two kids, 18 and 20. The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the city center, or a 5-minute cab ride. The staff spoke excellent English and was very helpful. The grounds are pleasant, with places to sit and relax. They have a locked room where you can check heavy luggage while you go on excursions (they are linked with www.giardinotours.com, which has an office on the premises). Our rooms were clean and adequate, although by no means luxurious. Just be sure to request a room away from the roosters! One corner of the hotel abuts a neighborhood where the locals raise chickens. The roosters woke us up at 4:00 a.m. with non-stop screeching that continued through dawn. Upon request, they switched us to a room that was further away and tolerable.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ushorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 402 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2009

Great rooms, beautiful gardens, superb staff, excellent breakfast fantastic location.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dez47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

I stayed at La Casa de mi Abuela about 2-3 years ago and it has remained a great place to stay. Great location, about a 10 minute walk from the main square, quiet neighborhood with not alot of traffic, close to many great restaurants. The grounds are so relaxing, sounds of birds singing, alot of lounge chairs to relax in the sun after a day or two of treking or touring, gardens, etc. Rooms are comfortable and well equiped. Service is tops from front desk, to the guy who helped me with my luggage and gave me a ride to the airport, to the restaurant staff who brought me dinner to my room as I was too tired to eat in the dining room. Breakfast buffet is great and served on the terrace. It is very safe and secure. I cannot say enough good things about this gem.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We bookended a tour of Colca Canyon with two separate stays at the Casa de mi Abuela. On both occasions, the staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The rooms were clean and well-kept, and the beds featured thick quilts that kept us surprisingly warm despite the cold nights.

Hands down, the hotel's best feature is its outdoor area. The grounds were larger than anticipated, beautifully maintained, and with nice little areas to relax with hammocks, lounge chairs, and the like. The breakfast area is lovely, a great place to eat outside, and the breakfast itself (included) was the best hotel breakfast we had during our entire time in Peru. There is also a restaurant on the premises that serves very good food.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to other travelers. It's clean, safe, and charming.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We spent 4 nights in April 2009 in this hotel, which is well-located (6-7 mn by foot from Plaza de Armas), secure, quiet, clean, with large and comfortable rooms (with permanenet hot water) in 2-stairs small houses around a beautiful garden including a small, nice swimming pool. The breakfast was rich and excellent in international terms - by far the best we had during 3 weeks in Peru. The restaurant offers simple but tasty and musical dinners. The hotel includes a good (although not cheap) travel agency and is located in Jerusalen Street, like most travel agencies. The staff is nice and helpful. The price is reasonable (around $50).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelIlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who knows Arequipa well. Great grounds and pool. Large clean rooms. Friendly helpful service. Excellent breakfast. A lovely place to stay and terrific value for money. Our kids loved it with its good pool, pet birds, table tennis table, fish, playground and board games imaginatively presented. We're on a 6 month trip and this rates highly in our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

The stay here was worth it despite the fact that the rooms are in a desperate need of a renewal. The carpet was suspicious and the furniture worn and aged. Bathrooms were not the greatest as the water took some time to drain and the pressure on the shower was so-so. I requested to see more rooms and saw two others that looked the same.

However, the staff was really helpful, breakfast fantastic and the gardens amazing. If you are not spending lots of time in the room than this place is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 102 in Arequipa
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 102 in Arequipa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 102 in Arequipa
1,133 reviews
4.8 mi away
El Lago Estelar Hotel
El Lago Estelar Hotel
#24 of 102 in Arequipa
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela

Address: Calle Jerusalen 606 Cercado | Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $60 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Arequipa, "La Ciudad Blanca", only six blocks away from the main square and in an area bigger than 3,500 mts2, lays “La Casa de mi Abuela”. The most traditional and recommended Hotel in Arequipa that for three decades, has welcomed our tourist friends, within enviroments surrounded by gardens, enjoying the twetter of the birds and the peaceful quietness our guests deserve. En la Ciudad Blanca, a solo seis cuadras de la Plaza de Armas y en un área mayor a 3,500 mt2, está “La Casa de mi Abuela”. El Hostal más tradicional y recomendado en Arequipa, que por tres décadas, viene albergando a nuestros amigos turistas, en ambientes rodeados de jardines, gozando con el canto de las aves y disfrutando la paz y tranquilidad, que nuestros huéspedes merecen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing