We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, safe, and beautiful grounds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We bookended a tour of Colca Canyon with two separate stays at the Casa de mi Abuela. On both occasions, the staff were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The rooms were clean and well-kept, and the beds featured thick quilts that kept us surprisingly warm despite the cold nights.

Hands down, the hotel's best feature is its outdoor area. The grounds were larger than anticipated, beautifully maintained, and with nice little areas to relax with hammocks, lounge chairs, and the like. The breakfast area is lovely, a great place to eat outside, and the breakfast itself (included) was the best hotel breakfast we had during our entire time in Peru. There is also a restaurant on the premises that serves very good food.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to other travelers. It's clean, safe, and charming.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank netnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 402 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2009

We spent 4 nights in April 2009 in this hotel, which is well-located (6-7 mn by foot from Plaza de Armas), secure, quiet, clean, with large and comfortable rooms (with permanenet hot water) in 2-stairs small houses around a beautiful garden including a small, nice swimming pool. The breakfast was rich and excellent in international terms - by far the best we had during 3 weeks in Peru. The restaurant offers simple but tasty and musical dinners. The hotel includes a good (although not cheap) travel agency and is located in Jerusalen Street, like most travel agencies. The staff is nice and helpful. The price is reasonable (around $50).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelIlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

This hotel was recommended to us by a friend who knows Arequipa well. Great grounds and pool. Large clean rooms. Friendly helpful service. Excellent breakfast. A lovely place to stay and terrific value for money. Our kids loved it with its good pool, pet birds, table tennis table, fish, playground and board games imaginatively presented. We're on a 6 month trip and this rates highly in our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harryhewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

The stay here was worth it despite the fact that the rooms are in a desperate need of a renewal. The carpet was suspicious and the furniture worn and aged. Bathrooms were not the greatest as the water took some time to drain and the pressure on the shower was so-so. I requested to see more rooms and saw two others that looked the same.

However, the staff was really helpful, breakfast fantastic and the gardens amazing. If you are not spending lots of time in the room than this place is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

The hotel is a quiet garden haven in the midst of the busy city.
It has all the facilities we needed at reasonable prices including pool, restaurant, maseuse, 24 hour security and very efficient travel agency on site.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Seventy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

My wife and I decided to stay at this place because of its great reputation here in Tripadvisor.com. And I must say all our expectations were met. From the lovely gardens to the confortable bed, everything was perfect. We were first in a room in front of the swimming pool. Because of its huge windows, the place didn't seem private enough and was even a little dark. We asked to change rooms and in 1 minute we were in the most private room of the hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The rooms are located in the backyard of the hotel, which makes it incredibly quiet and comfy. A very pleasant 5-minute walk leads you to the center of the city. Nearby you can find tons of travel/tour agencies and nice restaurants. Whenever in Arequipa, dont miss it: go to your grandma's!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank caiozaleschi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

It is a vast property with beautiful gardens and a charming pool. A very safe and cozy place to stay wisely located minutes of walking from downtown. Make sure you reserve a room in the newer constructions, not the old suites (altough they are like a small 3 1/2 appartment, it is pretty outdated). Breakfast was really excellent, very healthy! Not high luxury but very clean and quiet. They are many fine restaurants nearby. Staff was very cool, smiling and helpful. A travel agency is located within the hotel so you can easily book trip to Colca canyon at the best price - no need to shop at another travel agency - we compared and they offered the best price and quality service. We travelled with a small group in a brand new Mercedes mini-bus. We had a great stay. Highly recommended for the price! Be careful with pickpockets dowtown... Otherwise, Arequipa is a beautiful historical city.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank QuebecDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 102 in Arequipa
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 102 in Arequipa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 102 in Arequipa
1,133 reviews
4.8 mi away
El Lago Estelar Hotel
El Lago Estelar Hotel
#24 of 102 in Arequipa
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela

Address: Calle Jerusalen 606 Cercado | Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $60 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Arequipa, "La Ciudad Blanca", only six blocks away from the main square and in an area bigger than 3,500 mts2, lays “La Casa de mi Abuela”. The most traditional and recommended Hotel in Arequipa that for three decades, has welcomed our tourist friends, within enviroments surrounded by gardens, enjoying the twetter of the birds and the peaceful quietness our guests deserve. En la Ciudad Blanca, a solo seis cuadras de la Plaza de Armas y en un área mayor a 3,500 mt2, está “La Casa de mi Abuela”. El Hostal más tradicional y recomendado en Arequipa, que por tres décadas, viene albergando a nuestros amigos turistas, en ambientes rodeados de jardines, gozando con el canto de las aves y disfrutando la paz y tranquilidad, que nuestros huéspedes merecen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing