We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Very good location. Secured. You enter to a nice compound,quite, green. The room was small. The bathroom very very small. The sink is outside the bathroom. The beds are good. The staff nice and helpfull. I liked this place.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank yoramlav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 394 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

stayed here for two nights and i loved it.
Nice cosy place and i loved the layout with all the small buildings and the garden with the pool and all the charis and benches.
Lovely staff, many of them do speak english and easy to get aroud Arequipe. The hotel is located just a few minutes walk form the shopping and restaurant district and also close to the santa catalina monastary.

The rooms are ok, a little worn, but not bad at all. the hotel has free wifi which works quite well.
The bathrooms are ok: the water pressure it not great but it gets the job done, much better than other places i have stayed.

The beds are comfy and soft, but in the winter time at night you might get a little cold, so either ask for blanket or wear some layers before you go to bed.

The breakfast is awesome:
the have fresh juice: orange, pinapple, cereals, fruits, jams, cheese, eggs, tomatoes, breds, rolls, te and coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

It is ok for one or two nights to visit the city, but it is very amateuristically build, and needs a mayor overhaul, everything looks worn out, the pool is not regularly cleaned, the footsteps in the sand on the bottom were the same 2 days later, the sunbathing chairs look dirty so look the mattresses, and the chairs and tables at the breakfast place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerardthehague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel really deserves its 3 star designation. On the north end of the tourist district, La Casa de mi Abuela gets its share of tour groups and manages them well. Rooms are in two and three story buildings scattered around a large, grassy courtyard that includes a small pool. A double rents for S/59 and an excellent (and al fresco) buffet breakfast was S/15. Rooms are small but full featured. There's a strong and steady wi-fi signal in the rooms. A stellar new hotel near Colca Canyon, La Casa de Mamayacchi, is under the same management.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nworbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I do not recognise this hotel from some of the immediately preceding reviews. We found it comfortable and quiet apart from various nearby animals. Lovely gardens. Delicious breakfast. Restaurant could have been better but it was adequate. Walking distance to the cathedral and the monastery. Also don't miss the big food market just beyond the plaza major.

Room Tip: First floor is much better than ground floor
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am at this hotel as I write this review. As a solo female traveler, I was placed at the far end of the property with what sounds like a chicken/ rooster farm over the brick wall. I heard the roosters crowing much of the night. The sound of footsteps, toilet flushing, tv, and bed springs in the room above are noisy. The room is outdated but clean. There is no hair dryer in this room. I cannot log on to the supposed wi-fi and have had to find a common area to use my computer. The shower head drips a thin stream of water.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I am trying to find another room in this hotel. I have no idea if there is a good one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

very beautiful setting behind a wall in Arequipa. reasonably close walking distance to the main attractions in Arequipa. quiet rooms with comfortable beds and good hot showers. the pool is lovely-but very cold (no heating) There is a table tennis table and computer room. Free wifi quite good, and breakfast is very good

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules_of_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 101 in Arequipa
515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 101 in Arequipa
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 101 in Arequipa
1,102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.8 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 101 in Arequipa
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela

Address: Calle Jerusalen 606 Cercado | Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $59 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Arequipa, "La Ciudad Blanca", only six blocks away from the main square and in an area bigger than 3,500 mts2, lays “La Casa de mi Abuela”. The most traditional and recommended Hotel in Arequipa that for three decades, has welcomed our tourist friends, within enviroments surrounded by gardens, enjoying the twetter of the birds and the peaceful quietness our guests deserve. En la Ciudad Blanca, a solo seis cuadras de la Plaza de Armas y en un área mayor a 3,500 mt2, está “La Casa de mi Abuela”. El Hostal más tradicional y recomendado en Arequipa, que por tres décadas, viene albergando a nuestros amigos turistas, en ambientes rodeados de jardines, gozando con el canto de las aves y disfrutando la paz y tranquilidad, que nuestros huéspedes merecen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing