We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming hotel in excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de Melgar Hostal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a really good place to stay in during your time in Arequipa: The rooms are clean and charming (a bit basic), the location is perfect (within downtown Arequips, so easy walk to Plaza de Armas etc.), and it is quiet. There is a little grocery store just on the corner of Calle Melgar, where you can buy water etc., which is useful.

Breakfast is average but in a beautiful spot: a courtyard with trees and a lawn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    159
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
64
166
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frigiliana, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place was billed in lonely planet as "The Authors Choice" for Arequipa and it did not disappoint. From the initial contact Lidia the receptionist was timely and accurate with answers to all our daft questions and arranged airport pickup. We were able to leave our main bags here while we trekked in Colca Canyon. The houses own brand coffee was a great compliment to the excellent included buffet breakfast, which we took in the pretty and manicured courtyard. The whole property was excellently maintained, with lots of nooks and crannies and antiques scattered around. Our room was really spacious and colonial and as we later found out the arched ceilings are specifically used to prevent roof collapse in the event of earthquake - so we felt super safe in our volcano proof bed. Location brilliant - Wifi worked in all areas. Overall excellent place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the ones with arched ceilings in case of volcano's and earthquakes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bozcanyonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here because the regular hotel the travel agency uses was full. They told us it was a bit lesser quality. While this was true but location and charm this place had made our stay very enjoyable. The hotel is perfectly located in the city close to everything in the historic center. Plaza de Armas about a 8/10 min walk. Breakfast was good nothing spectacular but good.Bread, Yoghurt, eggs, deli, fruit, muesli, some flakes. Rooms are good only hot water was not always available. Hotel is in a very nice old building all the rooms are unique. Garden is nice and you can really sit peacefully here completely isolated from the busy arequipa streets. I would stay here again. We stayed here for 3 nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huub9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is unique! Have a look at my photo's to see what I mean. I loved this place, so I made a lot of photo's. Very nice hostal in old colonial building. Great charm, lovely rooms with high ceilings and nice rustic details and furniture. Great bed. WIFI. Quiet place. Nice garden, with flowers, trees, cacti and birds, you can also see the humming bird. Breakfast is good. Staff is friendly and helpfull. Centrally located. The nicest place we stayed in Peru.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-travelfraggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
584 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

First off, a caution to read the reservation. This place is CASH ONLY. I did not notice this and a surprise was in store when we checked out. Don't make the same mistake.

We spent a few days in Arequipa and this hotel is right in the center of town. It is easy walking distance to the Plaza des Armes and other sites. The hotel itself is a collection of courtyards with rooms facing the courtyard. Our room was toward the back so we were able to pass through several of these courtyards. The room itself had a king size bed the barely filled one tenth of the room. There were two couches as well in the room which had a very high vaulted ceiling. There was a nice armoire for the clothes and a desk as well.

The room comes with an American style breakfast. of fresh juice, coffee/tea, eggs and rolls. The eggs were cold except for the last day when the steno heater below was found and started. There was also a breakfast cereal of puffed grains, quinioa, amaranth ... with tangy yogurt and a sorghum like syrup.

The staff at the front desk were friendly and accommodating and were able to arrange for pickup and return to the airport. No need to negotiate for a taxi, (there are no meters in any of the taxis. )

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is full of character! The structure is built with sillar, the white volcanic stone which many colonial buildings in Arequipa are built with.

Our room was fantastic: high cathedral-like ceiling and large beds. The hotel grounds is nicely landscaped, with a pleasant breakfast area by a garden.

The rooms can get a bit cold at night, especially during the winter months in Peru; there is no safety deposit box (we had a portable travel safe), but overall we had a great stay here.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra blanket if you're travelling during the winter months. If you're uncomforta...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

As others have mentioned this place has great character, nice outdoor spaces and interesting rooms, but it definitely does not live up to its potential. Our room had 5 meter high ceilings, huge door and an old rustic charm, but was too basic, furniture falling apart, odd bathroom (good shower though). Breakfast was minimal and unfit for the room rate they charge. We very much enjoyed our stay, the location is great also with many good dining options around the corner. Wifi was free and worked well. We could also store our luggage as we went on a Colca Canyon tour, no charge, even though we did not stay at the hotel after our tour.
This is definitely an interesting place to stay with potential to become top end if someone would invest in it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shareru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#8 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Melgar Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Melgar Hostal

Property: La Casa de Melgar Hostal
Address: Calle Melgar no 108, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#10 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa de Melgar Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Casa de Melgar Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Melgar Hostal Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing