We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, Well Located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming, Well Located Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

La Casa del Melgar is a really cool space. The grounds are beautiful and our room was enormous. There is a nice simple breakfast every morning with bread, jam, yogurt, granola, fruit, fresh juices, and coffee and tea. The hotel is located a short walk away from the Plaza de Armas. Our room faced the street, but somehow we could not hear any traffic or outside noise. I would say it would be helpful to have more than basic Spanish skills as we did have a little trouble communicating with the front desk staff regarding taxis, etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaC281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    165
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
69
170
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Perfectly situated within easy walking distance of the main square, convent etc. Very friendly and helpful staff. Fabulous garden. ful of flowers and a well tended lawn. AMAZING rooms - huge, beautiful, massive windows, shutters to keep it cool, comfortable, and with their own doors onto the courtyard. The building goes on and on, with each section having its own little courtyard with benches.
Great to relax and read, but perfect vantage point for touring the sights.

Room Tip: We peered into as many rooms as we could see and they all looked huge and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahk8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hostal and is was wonderful. Although the rooms are simple and offers a very basic breakfast, the buildings are full of charm. You feel steeped in local history and the staff are very friendly. Our room had very high ceilings with some faded frescos and rough stones walls. a perfect setting for this city.
Don't expect luxury, but you can be assured of an authentic experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Rooms are dirty, breakfast is untasty, staff is unkind and not professional at all. In a few words, we did not spend happy moments during our stay in La CAsa de Melgar. I think they should have a course of behavior, from the housekieeping lady to the manager. They just know the word "no". We were ver dissapinting with the service, with the rooms, with breakfast, with internet that never worked. There should be better hotels in Arequipa for better prices and services. I do not recommend this hotel., it is the words I ve ever stayed anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were deciding between this and La Hosteria for a weeks stay in Arequipa. We ended up booking La Hosteria and enjoyed the stay there. After we were headed to Lima but liked Arequipa and decided to nix Lima and stay a few more days. La Hosteria was booked so here was our opportunity to stay at the Melgar. We walked over to it (slightly away from the center but no big deal) and looked at some rooms and booked one. We loved it there. We took a large room on the street side. Sadly for us, there was a huge pre-easter celebration that seemed to go all night long so there was little sleep the one night.
The place is an old bishops house and is sprawling. Rooms off the back garden looked great. The next time I would definitely book one of those. The breakfast is OK but nicely set on the garden. I will say that the place definitely has a worn almost gothic feel to it but (for us) it completely added to the aesthetic (dotted with old religious painting and antiques). It was wonderful to wander around the place (upstairs and down...little patios and courtyards).
A definite yes for staying again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guyiiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place suited me perfectly when I arrived in Arequipa, very central yet also really spacious and the gardens are lovely. I had had enough of running around the town one day so just lay in the sun, a real oasis of calm.

As a solo traveller, though, don't expect to meet people there, it's very low key and there's no bar or restaurant.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scuba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Located 3 blocks away from Plaza de Armas, 2 blocks away from St. Catalina Monastery, in quiet area. When I'd entered this hostel I was stroke by the atmosphere in here. I just love this place.
WiFi, TV, hot water (all the time), good breakfast (however simple one) in the garden, clean rooms and bathrooms.
Laundry nearby, same as small grocery store and several restaurants.

The only thing I was missing was a swimming pool to chill out :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciek_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Melgar Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Melgar Hostal

Property: La Casa de Melgar Hostal
Address: Calle Melgar no 108, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#10 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa de Melgar Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Casa de Melgar Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Melgar Hostal Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing