We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanted Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de Melgar Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
Ranked #12 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Gdansk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enchanted Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Located 3 blocks away from Plaza de Armas, 2 blocks away from St. Catalina Monastery, in quiet area. When I'd entered this hostel I was stroke by the atmosphere in here. I just love this place.
WiFi, TV, hot water (all the time), good breakfast (however simple one) in the garden, clean rooms and bathrooms.
Laundry nearby, same as small grocery store and several restaurants.

The only thing I was missing was a swimming pool to chill out :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maciek_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    165
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
69
170
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvan, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We ve stayed twice at Hostal Melgar and during our both stays, we were enchanted by the place but desappointed with service and cleanliness : no wake up call although we asked for it the day before, no breakfast possible before 7, price of the room was not the same at réservation by phone than at check out and bathroom (hairs in toilets, toothpaste in the sink) and floor were absolutely not cleaned. The last day of our second stay, we had to leave at 7.15 am and at 7.05 I ve,asked for a coffee, as I saw that food was,not ready. Because of the bad réaction of the lady preparimg the breakfast, we leaved immediatly this place... We found that sad because the place is really incredible, but for the,price you pay, Hostal Melagar really has to be carefull.

Room Tip: Ask for room 119 : very quiet, king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierR910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Very picturesque, full of character and very authentic. The rooms are lovely, but the bathrooms are not great, the bed linen was poor quality and the breakfast average. Great experience for one night, but that is enough for me!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place, extremely quirky.Lovely courtyards.The room we had was the largest with a huge vaulted ceiling, the doors were enormous,the bed was extremely comfortable.The breakfasts were not that brilliant, and the staff on duty did not speak English.Had great difficulty trying to get 2 boiled eggs for breakfast and amused a French Canadian with my boiling water impressions.
Overall an enjoyable stay

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is an old building.The rooms are large, spacious and comfortable as are the beds! The hotel has a series of courtyards and a lovely flowered garden where we saw a hummingbird. It's wonderfully peaceful and calming. Breakfast is good and the staff are polite and friendly. It's in easy walking distance of the city centre and main tourist attractions. Very good value for money. The only downside was the erratic plumbing but having said that I did have a bath which was very welcome after weeks of showers!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingWInnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. My husband and I had the most relaxing two nights in the hotel and wished we could have stayed longer. The room was huge, with beautiful high ceilings and an enormous (and very clean and fresh) bed with the an elegant little shower/bath and loo en suite.

The doors opened out to a very quaint little courtyard with benches to relax on and original doors, walls and frames. The breakfast, which was included, was Peruvian, and Lily - who runs the kitchen - was so welcoming and accommodating.

It felt so peaceful and colonial - it is a hotel with a wonderful history, ideally located.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annalise_deglanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hostel is located in the center of the city near to the restaurants and shops. The building is a colonial house similar to the Santa Catlina monastery, however the staff don't speak english and they are not really helpful (because of the language).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coralie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#8 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Melgar Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Melgar Hostal

Property: La Casa de Melgar Hostal
Address: Calle Melgar no 108, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#9 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
#10 Family Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa de Melgar Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de Melgar Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Melgar Hostal Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing