We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting...good to see at night as well.”

Monasterio de Santa Catalina
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.50*
and up
Arequipa City Tour Including St Catherine Monastery
Ranked #1 of 99 things to do in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered a masterpiece of colonial architecture, this monastery is a large complex of rooms, picturesque plazas, ornate fountains and a maze of narrow, cobblestone streets.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting...good to see at night as well.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I visited here on a Tuesday which is one of their late night opening days where they light the candles and fire places so you can experience how the nuns lived. We went in the afternoon and paid for a guided tour which is definitely worth while to get a better understanding of the monastery. So you can return in the evening make sure you get the manager in the office to sign and stamp your ticket. We asked our guide about returning in the evening and she said that you had to pay again but this isn't true. The office is outside the gate in the entrance. If unsure ask the person who stamps the ticket on the way in.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jibba84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,572
    1,335
    210
    35
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very interesting...good to see at night as well.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I visited here on a Tuesday which is one of their late night opening days where they light the candles and fire places so you can experience how the nuns lived. We went in the afternoon and paid for a guided tour which is definitely worth while to get a better understanding of the monastery. So you can return in the evening make sure you get the manager in the office to sign and stamp your ticket. We asked our guide about returning in the evening and she said that you had to pay again but this isn't true. The office is outside the gate in the entrance. If unsure ask the person who stamps the ticket on the way in.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jibba84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I recommend a guide”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Take a guide with you, different languages spoken, relatively inexpensive and gives you the highlights of this historic monastery;

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Irving2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Enjoyed learning about the history of the monastery and seeing how the nuns lived hundreds of years ago. The place is immense and almost overwhelming by the end of the tour. Very interesting, however there is just a lot to see. Pace yourself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGD764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Our perception of a monastery has been changed!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

For us this Monastery (together with viewing "Juanita") was the highlights of Arequipa. This is not just another Monastery - it was a haven for unmarried girls of rich families. This place is steeped in history - it is fascinating to see the opulence inside this place that looks so formidable from the outside. It is even more fascinating to listen to the history and realize the social life "inside" was very complicated and duplicity ruled. We love history and we will cherish this Monastery and it's memories forever.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Huyshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monasterio de Santa Catalina also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Monasterio de Santa Catalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing