We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful B&B - Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Arequipa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Arequipa
Ranked #10 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B - Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

From our initial booking via email to our pick-up from the airport, our 3-night stay at Casa Arequipa was flawless. Rocio, Silvana, Damaso and other staff members go above and beyond to ensure a pleasant stay. We initially booked the Rose Room and stayed there one night before transferring to the Colonial Room downstairs. Both rooms are lovely with wonderfully large bathrooms. The Colonial Room was just a better fit with a king bed and a bit more room. Breakfast upstairs with incredible views of El Misti was a treat each morning. Fresh fruit, juice, bread and jam and eggs cooked to your liking was enough to hold us until a late lunch. The walk to the Plaza de Armas is quick and easy. We walked back most nights with no problem but a taxi is suggested - the going rate 5 soles. We'd return to Casa Arequipa without a doubt. We loved the city and could have spent another day exploring.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedevilfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Propietario at Casa Arequipa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, remember, the Hotel is your home, so we really hope see you again.

kindest regards
Casa Arequipa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    73
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
81
225
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed for two nights at Casa Arequipa at the beginning of May. Although we knew the high rating of the Casa at Tripadvisor before our stay, we still found that it was unexpectedly good. The decorations of the Casa are really nice. The roof is high enough and everywhere is suitably spacious. The outside pink makes the Casa outstanding in the district and the inside yellow makes the Casa bright. The service from the staff was undoubtedly satisfactory. Everything was ready on time. The surrounding of the Casa is quiet and we were sure to have good sleep. The breakfasts were nice and we enjoyed leisurely. The staff recommended us some restaurants and we tried one: Sol de Mayo which was really wonderful. If anyone wants to stay at a casa with money worth, do not hesitate to book with Casa Arequipa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Propietario at Casa Arequipa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for write about us, we put special attention on the decoration and details, so it make us happy to know that you appreciate them. We hope see you again in a next opportunity.

Kindest regards
Casa Arequipa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and the staff, to include the manager, helped us out so many times, going above and beyond what is customary when we were in need of assistance, ultimately saving our trip.

It was a very comforting place to stay and I loved how impeccably clean it was.
The coffee was to my liking and the fruit was freshly prepared.

We'd like to go back. PS There's a nice restaurant nearby w/ Peruvian music/food.

Room Tip: If you decide to have a massage, have it done in your own room that is already warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFS1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Propietario at Casa Arequipa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment, for us is very important to know that you enjoy your stay in our hotel, we hope see you again in a next opportunity.

Best regards
Casa Arequipa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent a week at this hotel while based in Arequipa. The building is very charming, and each room is distinct. The staff were extremely helpful, and their recommendations (e.g. local restaurants) were excellent. The hotel is about 15 minutes walking from the Plaza de Armas, so a taxi is advised at night. A roof-level dining area serves excellent breakfasts, and view is great too. My only minor negative comment is that the door bell can be heard throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivansamuels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Propietario at Casa Arequipa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate it, we take care about the door bell, and thank you again for let us to know that, your opinions about us is very important, they help us to be better, and it make us give you a best service.

Best regards
Casa Arequipa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was our first trip to Arequipa. It started with a lost luggage incident. The hotel started immediately helping us with the issue, which would have been much more difficult without their assistance. Throughout our stay, it was the staff that made the difference! Especially Silvana who was our main contact. She always went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The hotel was very convenient and within walking distance of all areas of interest. We stayed in the balcony room which was spacious and lovely. My only issues with the room is that it is a little noisy in the mornings and the sun bakes the room a bit. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we will not hesitate to come back. Thank you for making our trip the best!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExitNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Propietario at Casa Arequipa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear. Guest,

Thank you very much for write about us, for us is important to know that you enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Coming in early was not a problem, we were welcomed and given breakfast. The staff were very friendly, interested in our plans and helped with details and translation. We had a two day hike planned over the three day stay and they even deducted one nights accommodation since we were not there for one night, allowing us to keep our gear in our room! How's that for service. Hugs when we left - when was the last time that happened at a hotel. Seemed like we were part of their family. We picked this hotel based on other tripadvisor comments and were very satisfied. I cannot think of a better experience.

Room Tip: No issues, even though there was construction across the street, there was little sound evident in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGEOFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Propietario at Casa Arequipa, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear. Guest,

Thank you very muchfor your kind comment, for us is always a pleasure to know that you feel confortable with us.

we hope see you again in a next opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

From the moment I walked in to Case Arequipa I felt completely looked after. The house itself it a beautiful colonial house and very well kept. The rooms are lovely and comfortable - I slept beautifully both nights I was there. The staff were extremely helpful and always went above and beyond in advising me with tours, storing bags, arranging transportation...allowing me back to use the internet after my stay...the list goes on. They also let me check in early at no extra charge..( it was low season). They even asked the builders next door to stop working so I could have a nap. After travelling for 6 weeks, the breakfast they served was the best I had in Peru. The place is however about a 20 min walk to the main town area - but to be honest this isnt a bad thing. The centre of town is very noisy and can be a little dangerous, it was nice to come back to quiet. Taxi's a very cheap and take 5 mins. The only thing i would say is the taxi they ordered to pick me up from the airport was quite expensive - local cabs are cheaper but maybe an organised one is a better option if travelling alone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poepull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Casa Arequipa, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Above all, we would like to thank you for your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the Casa Arequipa experience. As you noted, we try to offer a quietude and comfort that hotels directly in the center cannot provide.

With regard to the taxi issue you noted, we do prefer to call taxis to take our guests to the airport. We do so because we want to assure that our guests get the safest and most reliable transport to their destination. We have no control over the charges the taxis make and we do not receive any compensation from them. We are aware that they sometimes charge a bit more than drivers on the street, mostly because they will be focused on getting you to the airport and not picking up return passengers, thus making a round trip but charging for only one way. Our guests are always welcome to hail taxis from the street if that is their preference.
We hope that you come back to stay with us when you are next in Peru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
1.3 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Arequipa

Property: Casa Arequipa
Address: Avenida Lima 409, Arequipa 20009, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#15 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Arequipa 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Casa Hotel Arequipa
Arequipa Casa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing