We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!”
Review of Casa Arequipa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Arequipa
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

This really is the perfect place to stay in Arequipa. It is a short, pleasant walk into town, and much quieter for that. Rooms are lovely and the rooftop breakfast space tots you to longer over your delicious and generous breakfast. A nice boxed breakfast was provided the morning we left on our early flight. The staff was warm and wonderful. Truly a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marketmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Casa Arequipa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 444 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Originally a private mansion, this beautiful B&B has a few (less than 10) rooms but each of them are large, elegantly beautiful and at very reasonable price. Sightly outside the city center in a residential neighbourhood it was only a 10 minute pleasant walk to the Plaza des Armas and the city core. Breakfast is served in a rooftop room with a spectacular view of nearby volcanoes and snow topped mountains. We started each day after breakfast sitting outside on the roof terrace simply enjoying the view. Management arranged a very individualized tour and the owner took a personal interest in our stay to ensure we were well cared for and had no problems. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We definitely recommend this B&B, it really was a beautiful place and economical.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Cala Lily room. Beautiful.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eloise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The first thing that stands out is how friendly and helpful the staff are. They were more than happy to offer recommendations of places to visit and eat, and always offered to call a cab for us. We stayed in the balcony room, and it was really beautiful and well-kept. Breakfast is on a scenic terrace that overlooks the mountains. I don't have any complaints, except that the shower water could have been a little hotter, but that's pretty minor. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and felt at home instantly.

The GOOD: The staff are really friendly and so helpful (especially Silvana...she's such a gem) We found their service to be exceptional across the board.
We booked our room directly with the hotel and had absolutely no problems whatsoever. We stayed in the Library Room which was very comfortable and they have a nightly turn-down service as well. Wonderful hot shower. The terrace has an excellent view of El Misti and is a great place to sit in the sun or watch the sunset.
The B&B is about 10 minute walk/stroll, slightly uphill, from the Plaza de Armas.
Silvana helped us organise our trek to Colca Canyon, bus tickets to Puno and offered suggestions on local sightseeing.
The breakfast was excellent...the best we had while in Peru for 4 weeks (a generous fruit platter, ham & cheese, coffee/tea/juice, bread with jams and eggs to order) There is also teas/coffee available all day long in the lounge area.

The not so good: The only downside was the street noise at night (which is not the fault of the hotel at all and is a general issue in most places)

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Arequipa and would recommend it to our friends/family.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room, away from the main road as the street noise is loud at times and disturbs...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaBazley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This lovely 'Boutique' style hotel was excellent. Lovely individual rooms (only 10) around an internal courtyard/hallway. Welcoming and helpful staff only added to the ambience of the hotel.
Beautifully decorated and presented with a roof terrace, together with the dining area. Lovely breakfast served against the backdrop of snowcapped mountains - what more could you ask for.
Centrally located - 10/15 minutes gentle walk into central Arequipa; far enough away to be quiet and peaceful yet close to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I searched for hotels in Arequipa and this B&B never appeared on the list. I'm not sure what I did in my search to make it appear, but I am glad I did. I was prepared to book a room at the Casa Andina Private Collection, but I saw this highest rated B&B in Arequipa just in time.

There are not enough superlatives in the English language to address how well we were treated. Every desire, every whim was taken care of. Guests are allowed to use the facilities in the rooftop kitchen and I made good use of the refrigerator. The breakfast they serve is delicious and healthful. You can also request eggs to order. Even the roof dogs next door are friendly, especially if you sneak a piece of ham from the breakfast to throw to them. There are no worries of security here, but just for an added bit of peace of mind there is a lock box in each room.

The rooms are very nice and super comfortable. The beds were the finest I have ever slept in throughout Peru. The showers never failed us. Only one morning (out of the seven days we were there) was there a shortage of hot water but even that day it was warm enough to shower without suffering. If you are old and out of shape like me, ask for the Colonial Room which is on the first floor and has a king sized bed.

Again, I can not overemphasize the level of personal service provided by the staff. They seemed to genuinely enjoy doing their jobs. The owner did a great job of selecting the right people to work here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is a lovely building in a nice suburb of Arequipa. The rooms are clean and very comfortable with their different themes. The bed was particularly comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic too.
But the best aspect of this hotel is the service above and beyond what would normally be expected. We arrived early in the morning and were shown to our room immediately. We were given lots of helpful restaurants and sights advice by the receptionist and when we left for a couple of days to visit the Colca Canyon our bags were back in our room on our return. The next day, while waiting for our night bus, we were served tea, ordered a Pizza to the hotel and showered in a spare room. All of this service was done with a smile and a 'can do' attitude and I imagine that this is why the hotel is so highly rated on this site.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Oscar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 101 in Arequipa
1,095 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 101 in Arequipa
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 101 in Arequipa
838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
1.1 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Arequipa

Address: Avenida Lima 409, Arequipa 20009, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#15 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range: $68 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Arequipa 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Casa Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Casa Hotel Arequipa
Arequipa Casa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing