We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can take it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Arequipa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Arequipa
Ranked #11 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can take it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Good rooms, nice beds. 10 min. From the downtown in one nice neighborhood. Cabs, taxi for 3 soles.. 1u$ or 2u$... And the better. The people are very helpfull and nice! Everything always clean, they dry my clothes, bought my tickets! Pretty good!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    74
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
81
230
18
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great service and great value. Highly recommended for brief stays in Arequipa. Staff were extremely helpful with tours, taxis and advice. It is like staying with family. The place is simple but quaint. Might be a little noisy in the house at times of departure but we did not have any issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is really nice, in a mansion from (i guess) the 1930s or 1940s just outside the city centre. It doesn't have the colonial aroma that other buildings around the Plaza de Armas have, but rooms are nice & well decorated. the breakfast was probably the best I've had in Perú. Very complete with fruits, eggs on request, fresh rolls & juice, and on the top floor with views on the volcanoes. Only drawback for me was the fact that it is more outside the centre as I had anticipated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff here are so friendly and made us reservations for restaurants (Zig Zag) upon our arrival. They said we know what you want to eat and they were right on point, the restaurant was really amazing. The hotel is a 15 walk from the Plaza De Arma so they called us cabs at night. Only 4-5 Soles so it wasn't too bad. The rooms are beautiful and all had a lot of personal touches (we stayed in two separate rooms during one trip because of a side trip to the Colca canyon) Free breakfast which was amazing and beautiful views of the volcanoes. The only issue is the location of the front rooms which was loud. It wasn't the worst thing because I live in the noisiest city in the universe NYC.

Room Tip: Try and book rooms in the rear of the hotel. Peruvians wake early around 3-6AM and there are no sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was a great place to stay. From the start the staff were very friendly and helpful. They arranged taxis, made reservations etc. small hotel but very well run. Lovely old building.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

It's a nice place but you can get something better for the same price or less. I had a last minute change (that usually happens in a trip) and I have to leave the hotel in advance. They charge me more than 50% on the regular price. The hotels usually charge a penalty for that, but not that much. And the room are just ok, in the pics they look bigger but they are just ok. Around the area are better hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yessica h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary L, Owner at Casa Arequipa, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Since the guest took issue with Casa Arequipa’s cancellation rules, a clarification is in order.
Our policy, signed by all guests at the time they reserve a room, requires them to inform the hotel 48 hours in advance if they will be canceling a stay. According to that agreement, guests who fail to cancel within the designated time frame will be charged for one night’s stay. This is a responsible approach, one that allows us to know which rooms are available to offer other travelers. In appreciation of the fact that travel plans can change due to weather, health issues or other factors, we are more flexible than most hotels in adapting the hotel’sguidelines to meet guests’ needs and circumstances.

In this case, the guest booked a room for three nights. She informed the hotel on the morning of the second day that she would be checking out that day, citing the plans of friends who were staying elsewhere.

In spite of the standard policy of charging a night’s stay for cancellations less than 48 hours in advance, we asked for a payment of only 50% of one night’s stay. We feel that was more than fair under the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Casa Arequipa was one of the best Hotels we stayed during our journey through Peru! We only stayed one night but felt really at home. The staff is super friendly and professional. Our room (rose room) was beautiful and very clean! The whole setup is just very warm and makes u feel comfortable! Note: we stayed in over 10 hotels during 3 weeks of traveling.. The only hotel that honored the fact that we were on our honeymoon was Casa arequipa - with a bottle of wine and a lovely card! Thank you again for this hospitality!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonaswand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
0.6 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.3 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Arequipa

Property: Casa Arequipa
Address: Avenida Lima 409, Arequipa 20009, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#4 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#15 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Arequipa 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Casa Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Arequipa Hotel Arequipa
Casa Hotel Arequipa
Arequipa Casa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing