We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Convent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo de Arte Virreinal Santa Teresa

Museo de Arte Virreinal Santa Teresa
Ranked #11 of 99 things to do in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Convent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you like architecture and art, don't miss it. is in the center of the city, there are many things to check there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    78
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
855 reviews
455 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“STC & Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My tour include this and there is tour guide speaking in English to explain. You're able to see how the nuns lived in 18th century and the rest is history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank joanadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What Can be Wrong with a Convent Tour?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I am not sure that I have ever gone on a convent tour that I did not enjoy, the old world buildings and antiques are just out of this world. The grounds of Santa Teresa are spectacular, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit even without a tour guide.

You will not be disappointed with your visit to Santa Teresa.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fotopala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“What an Amazing Place To Learn about!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I can't believe how large this place is!! and a piece of history. It is so intersting to see how they used to live, versus how they live now, and all the little pieces of history that are tucked away in here. I could have spent even longer than we did exploring all the little rooms and historical pieces that are available to see.
Definitely visit this place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Unique establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This convent is very interesting. The architecture, layout and style is well worth a visit and it has some interesting engineering examples such as the irrigation system used for clothes washing. It is also interesting to gain an insight into convent life, both in the past and now and the convent is an oasis in the middle of this busy city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank rivbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo de Arte Virreinal Santa Teresa also viewed

 

Been to Museo de Arte Virreinal Santa Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing