We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casona Terrace Hotel
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The Casona Terrace is 2 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, very central location within walking distance of all major sights of the city.
The rooms are ample and clean, the bathroom is nice with a good hot shower. Staff was friendly and helpful. Free tee available and breakfast with juices, eggs, bread etc.
Really good price for the location and what it is. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jultie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 102 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel is minutes away from the Square. There are many shops and restaurants close by. The staff at the reception was extremely nice and helpful. The rooms are very clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was O.K., not great.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel functions as a stopping place in Arequipa but is average rather than excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful and our room was spotlessly clean and modern. It did make generous use of the colour orange throughout and this was especially intense as the sun blasted through the thin orange curtains in the morning...

Major irritations were that it was quite noisy - despite our window being closed we were woken at 5am by hotel staff hosing down the courtyard that we overlooked. The bathroom was the absolute bare minimum size to achieve the space for a shower, toilet and sink and left no room for easy manoeuvre. Finally the (adequate, but not impressive) breakfast was served in quite a small (but very nice) room with a stone barrel vaulted roof. Fine when there were a few guests the first morning but when the hotel was full there was no space at all to sit and the tables blocked access to the food and everything got very chaotic and confused. It is unclear why they didn't expand the breakfast space in these situations to include the (freshly hosed) courtyard adjacent with a few extra tables - it would have made all the difference.

In summary - functional but probably better hotels available at the same pricepoint.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank nji1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casona-Terrace, Owner at Casona Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hello nji1000,
We thank you very much for the positive comments on your stay, and we understand there were two things that could have made your experience much better, please allow us to explain.

The noise: it had just happened that during the month of October our hotel was in the process of an elevator installation, and even though we took all the precautions to minimize the spread of dust and dirt, it was necessary to hose the courtyard and other areas in order to provide a clean appearance, unfortunately this couldn't be done at late hours when the installation team was done, so we were forced to do it early in the morning. We greatly apologize for the inconvenience this caused. We can now assure you this will not happen again and that next time you visit us there will be an elevator available to you and other visitors.

Breakfast accommodations: you are completely right, we realized the set up we were using wasn't the most efficient; we have now set some furniture apart to create more space and a more simple sit down area, again, we are sorry for the inconvenience.

Thank you for the time to let us know about your experience, and we look forward to having you with us in the near future.

Sincerely
CTH***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Rooms were spacious and lovely decorated. Walls were quite thin but didn't affect the great sleep we had in the comfy bed. The hotel is literally 2 mins from the main sq and felt very safe in the hotel and the surrounding area. The only disappointing things of the hotel was the breakfast - limited choice with no milk for cereal and the shower temperature was temperamental meaning one day I had a cool shower. There was also free wifi which you could access from your room. We had a room facing the back and were glad as the road out the front was very noisy. We would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casona-Terrace, General Manager at Casona Terrace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hello Lauren F,
We greatly appreciate the compliments on your stay with us. however we are sad to hear we did not meet your expectations in regards to breakfast choice, as a general manager I am disappointed my self about the fact that you did not find any milk available, I can only think that it was on its way to the table as we consider it to be a prime element of our breakfast buffet.
Please know that we think very highly of our breakfast buffet and your comment is very helpful to address any downsides it may have.

Again thank you very much for your time to let us know about your experience at Casona Terrace.

Sincerely,
CTH***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is situated in a lovely, previuos single family dwelling.from the 1700's, 1 block form the central square.
The rooms are very clean and safe.. Breakfast is provided..The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. English is not a problem here

A happy tourist from Victoria B.C. Canada..Cheers..

Room Tip: Noise is not an issue for me..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a renovated property, sparkling, and modern. My room was painted with vibrant colors, bathroom was shiny, very clean, had a great hot shower. People who work there were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa_Peru1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank oscar_cs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
La Hosteria
La Hosteria
#18 of 102 in Arequipa
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#17 of 102 in Arequipa
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palla Boutique Hotel
Palla Boutique Hotel
#23 of 102 in Arequipa
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Alwa Hotel Boutique
Alwa Hotel Boutique
#38 of 102 in Arequipa
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Corregidor
Hotel Corregidor
#41 of 102 in Arequipa
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Terrace Hotel

Address: Calle Alvarez Thomas 211, Arequipa Areq 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $60 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona Terrace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Casona Terrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing