We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning beautiful, delicious food, excellent staff”
Review of Paladar 1900 - CLOSED

Paladar 1900
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
283 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Stunning beautiful, delicious food, excellent staff”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here after spending several days hiking Colca, and on our way to an overnight bus trip. So, we weren't dressed very nicely, and weren't too clean- and were worried they'd turn us away.

They were so kind to us (despite our appearance), and the food was excellent. The restaurant itself is an Arequipa white-stone building that they've kept intact, and just hung chandeliers and installed big comfy chairs. It was a wonderful experience.

I had the arroz con pato (duck with rice), and my husband had ceviche. Both were very good, and the Happy Hour drink specials kept the price lower than we'd expected.

HIGHLY recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    97
    24
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
“good turkish food”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good food and the location was great. The prices are not bad. The owner is a turkish man that likes cooking, but it seems like the food has a small peruvian taste to it. maybe he is more peruvian now. The decore is great and looks like an old turkish house. I would go to this place if you like turkish food with a little peruvian spice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lamp_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great presentation, wonderful atmosphere”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Good: Delicious food and great presentation; Clean and beautiful restaurant (really cool chairs); Very friendly and welcoming staff.

The Bad: A little more expensive than the average Peruvian restaurant, but worth it.

My menu: Trio of ceviches, arroz con pato, and several cocktails.

Price: 89 Soles total; 59 Soles for two entrees and 30 Soles for four "happy hour" priced cocktails.

Value: Great value. Large portion sizes and quality food for the price. The food I had was actually better (at half the price) than at another renowned Peruvian chef's local restaurant.

Dine-again status? Absolutely, if I ever find myself in Arequipa again.

When I ate there: March 11, 2013

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Reliable, good, innovative Peruvian fusion food. The chef is Turkish, trained in Europe. Lovely decor and as someone else noted good music. Staff is attentive and the food is really excellent. The amuse bouche is a wonderful roasted potates with a yellow pepper sauce. Absolutely delicious. It is also served with many of the entrees and a very delightful change from the ubiquitous papas fritas. The soups are delicious as are the entrees. Only thing that wasn't as good as you can get some other places was the recoto relleno. Otherwise wonderful place. We have been there twice and will probably go back before we leave. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilowatt512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Keep walking back and you'll find two courtyards and an interior restaurant. We ate in the.last courtyard under floating white umbrellas. All very elegant. As pricey as other places here but check the board in front where they advertize specials not on the menu. Lunch includes free lovely potato app. Alpaca steak excellent. Rocoto relleno is extremely spicy & I eat a lot of spicy food but this pepper was hot! Good service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Masca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paladar 1900 also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing