We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlitos Tours in Arequipa is great!”
Review of Carlitos Tours

Carlitos Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: a new way for tourist to visit colca canyon , we want to give the best service for a cheap price,it is important for us :sustainable tourism, supporting differents families, and taking not the classic routes
Davis, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Carlitos Tours in Arequipa is great!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We four sisters traveling independently in Peru for 3 weeks contacted Carlitos tours for a day tour of Arequipa & transportation to the Colca Canyon to see the condors & on to Puno (all in 2 days---our choice). Carlitos was a great guide to the area & made sure that all went smoothly. It was a long day (3am to start driving to the canyon finally arriving in Puno at 8pm). But we got to see everything we set out to see & kept to a very ambitious schedule. Great driver in a very comfortable van, stops for shopping & pictures, very accommodating to our wishes. Contact him at Carlitos_tours_peru@hotmail.com
We were very happy with the services.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Patty6-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Manager at Carlitos Tours, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review and comment about your experience with us
We are working really hard to improve our service all the time
We also had a great time with you during the tour from the time we picked you up from the airport until the time we said good bye in PUNO
The best wishes for you
Carlitos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    17
    3
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice overall but with some bits to consider”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We choose Carlitos Tours because of the many positive reviews and overall were quite happy with it but wouldn't say astonished. Carlitos tour provided a ok service overall. We've been to different treks & tours company, and although it seemed that we had one of the good company for what Colca has to offer, it wasn't as good as they led us to believe. The home-stay accommodation was mainly a "bed in a box" which was ok but cramped & stuffy. The guide was ok but we felt that we had to always ask for the conversation (at the home stay) to be translated (due to our very little Spanish which is our own fault), even when it concerned us directly (as they were all looking at us, clearly talking either to us or about us). Some things we were told we would be provided such as snacks weren't, except for the last day (which is not a big deal but helpful to know). Overall, Carlitos Tour service was ok / nice. The service provided seemed slightly better than others in the sense that our guide seemed interested in the group (in comparison with others), but we wouldnt say it was exceptional and we are not sure it really was worth it...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank marsupone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour of Colca Canyon”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I decided to do a 3 day tour of Colca Canyon with Carlito's Tours. We were picked up from our hostel at 3 in morning and driven with the other tourists and guides to the Canyon. Our guide, Jhon super knowledgable, but more importantly he was helpful and very social. He made sure everyone in the group was comfortable and having a good time. Jhon speaks various languages, which is really a plus for those that didn't speak Spanish or English.

Hiking through the canyon during the day was breath-taking and staying in a homestay at night was a great experience. We really felt like we were getting a more authentic experience spending time with and talking to the people that live there. I really appreciated how Jhon helped us communicate with the people we stayed with. At night we were able to relax, have a delicious meal, talk, play cards and have a great night sleep before setting off for another day of hiking.

Overall, Carlito's Tours was an excellent choice. I highly recommend them. They're easy to communicate with, very responsable, and value the experience of the tourist. We had an unforgetable time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank MicaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Propietario at Carlitos Tours, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comment about your experience with us
We really appreciate
We are working really hard improving our service
Merry christmas...!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 day / 1 night Colca Canyon trek”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Carlitos tours was great. Arturo met us at our hotel the day before, set our expectations, and made sure that we were prepared. Jean, our guide, was charming and professional. He had tonnes of experience and interesting facts and stories. At each step of the trip he knew what was likely to be interesting or important to us. We also had full confidence in his ability to adapt to unplanned situations.

As for the tour, we really appreciated that all of the fees, such as breakfast and hot spring access, were included, making everything just a little simpler. I would definitely recommend going with this team!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Manager at Carlitos Tours, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We really appreciate your time writing the comment about your experience with us
Thanks a lot for your review and comment about your experience with us
We are working really hard to improve our service all the time
We also had a great time with you during the tour
The best wishes for you
Carlitos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour and guide”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were looking for a 'non-conventional' 4 day 3 night tour of the Colca Valley and Canyon at short notice as we only had a small window for this trip. Our hotel put us in touch with Carlitos. He exceeded our expectations. He met us in the hotel and outlined the options available taking our wishes into account, as a result of which we had an outstanding trip starting the following day.

Our guide, Jean, was excellent, extremely understanding and thoughtful, ensuring that our every need was catered for. He was a fun and interesting companion. Not only did he look after us well but whenever we came across other trekkers without guides who were in difficulty eg lost, he helped them out too. That he was able to speak Spanish, French and English was a bonus. We were able to engage in conversation with others along the way. At all times we felt safe in his care even on the trickier parts of the trek.

We had one night in each of a hotel, a home stay and the oasis. This variety worked well. At all times the food was excellent, with Jean carrying snacks, fruit and drinks to ensure we were well catered for. One of many highlights of this trip was seeing condors at close range at a time when no one else was around.

Carlitos' theme was that we should enjoy our trek ... And we certainly did. We would highly recommend Carlitos Tours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Propietario at Carlitos Tours, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Thanks a lot for your comment about your experience with us
We are working really hard improving our service
Merry christmas...!
The best wishes for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlitos Tours also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Carlitos Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing