We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Tierra Viva in Arequipa. The rooms were very chic, large and nicely decorated. The furnishings and quality of the bathrooms were surprisingly high-end considering how reasonable the rates were at this hotel. The staff was also very professional and helpful, anticipating our needs. The hotel is well located just a couple blocks from the Plaza de Armas. We also liked the included breakfast buffet, which had a wide variety of options.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Elliott M,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a "Chic and modern hotel"

We are so glad that you enjoyed that much your stay at our hotel and we hope to have you again with us at any of our Tierra Viva Hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 729 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Terra Viva in Arequipa for two nights. The location of the hotel is very convenient and only 5 minutes walking distance to the main square (Plaza de Armas), Santa Catalina Convent, and a good number of restaurants.

The hotel is a modern "city stay" affair, generally the spaces were all modern clean and bright, with good strong wifi throughout. 

Our room was very large, as was the bed. The windows faced onto an interior courtyard, and so we were also shielded from the cities noises. A safe was provided, but not quite laptop size. Laundry services were cheap; but you get what you pay for. The chief downside was noise travelling between the bathrooms, which carried a bit too well and can wake you up in the mornings.

The service was excellent and always with a smile.  All the staff were very helpful with making bookings, assisting with translations, and even packing boxes of souvenirs to send home.

Breakfast could have been a bit better, and was fairly basic spread, and not the nicest of seating layouts.  A lot of local tours start at 8am, so if you get to breakfast late it can be slim pickings.

Really enjoyed this experience of the Terra Viva group, and would stay at their Arequipa hotel again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GilbertoAndJorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's in the middle of downtown where all the action is, things are all within walking distances.
Two blocks away from Santa Catalina , that's how centrally located it is.
Staff were friendly, helpful in all respect and always carry a smile.
Rooms are clean and modern, my only complaint is that there is no ventilation in the bathroom.
Breakfast was adequate.
Takes half an hour to get to the airport even around noon, not bad.
Not the cheapest, but worth the value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subtarget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Arequiba is an amazing place to visit, and the experience in Tierra Viva made this trip even better. The hotel staff is very nice and helpful, and the room has comfortable space and clean. furthermore, the location is close to many good restaurants and please ask for help with the reservation to the frontdesk. comparing to other hotels nearby, the price may be a little bit high, however, it is definitely worth the cost.

Room Tip: rooms away from the street will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuanW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear GuanW_13,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your Tierra Viva´s experience with the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again at any Tierra Viva Hotel very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here four nights. It was great! Excellent location, just two blocks from Plaza de Armas. Everything within easy walking distance: churches, museums, shopping, and wide range of restaurants. The hotel lobby fronts onto a busy street, but the rooms are cleverly positioned on either side of a three-story atrium, such that our room (#211) had absolutely no street noise. I assume same is true with other rooms. No air-conditioning, but not needed, as we could regulate room temperature by opening windows … and no insects came into our room. Attentive, friendly reception staff. Great breakfast buffet: ample, fresh, varied. Laundry service: in by 10, back by 5. Free coffee available in lobby throughout the day. I also recommend the four-hour bus tour of sites around the edge of the city (tickets can be purchased at hotel desk): viewpoints of volcanoes, terraced fields, alpaca zoo, horseback riding, etc. Recommend the 9:15 departure, as sky seems clearer in morning than afternoon.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Walk_in_Beauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Walk_in_Beauty,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment about our hotel and for highly recommending us to the rest of travelers.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Tierra Viva chain of hotels are fantastic. I stayed at the Arequipa and Puno branches on a recent trip to Peru and was impressed by the quality of both hotels. The rooms are comfortable, huge beds, clean big bathrooms, welcoming staff, good breakfast selection and central location. Additionally, the rate makes these hotels very good value. Good, modern hotels in regional Peruvian cities are quite hard to find, so I would happily stay here again.

Additionally, Arequipa is a very nice little city - pretty, relaxed, some good restaurants, and friendly welcoming people. It was by far my favourite city on our tour of Peru.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear joegriff,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for considering our hotel chain as “Fantastic”.

You will find our hotels in Cusco, Arequipa, Puno and very soon in Lima.

Once again, thank you, and we hope to have you again, at any Tierra Viva Hotel, very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel and my stay was amazing in downtown Arequipa. The service and the accommodations were the absolute best for the price. I arrived in Arequipa late evening with anticipation of finding a hotel that would suit my taste for the five day stay. However, most of the hotel that I visit were not adequate with room accommodation or hotel service. I searched for a day and a half before finding Tierra Viva Hotel. On a last note, your stay there will no question be a memorable one, with the service, room cleanliness and the breakfast that is provide (Free of Charge) by the hotel. I will return and stay there again!!

Room Tip: I had a standard room, there are large rooms if requested. Ask what room choices are available. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Charles J,

Thank you so much for your excellent comment and for sharing your experience at Tierra Viva with the rest of travelers.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity of serving you again very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 104 in Arequipa
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 104 in Arequipa
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 104 in Arequipa
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
#1 of 104 in Arequipa
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Address: C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: $64 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tierra Viva Areqiupa Plaza has 26 spacious and comfortable rooms newly renovated and extended over a 3 floor building located in the heart of Arequipa. Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza is located in the heart of Arequipa, just 2 blocks from the Plaza de Armas, 1 block from Calle Mercaderes, commercial and tourist heart of the city. A 15-minute taxi ride from the Arequipa´s airport and 5-minute taxi ride from Arequipa´s bus stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookAssist, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing