We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
294 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It is difficult ti review this hotel as some things wery very good and some things poor.
On the plus side:
Efficient free pick up from the airport
Friendly helpful staff
Large rooms with comfortable beds
A business centre with 2 computers and free wifi
Good location near the square and restaurants.

On the negative side:
The first room we had was near the water pump which ran until 10pm and from 6.15am making the room unbearable for sleeping. The room we were moved to was better.
The shower, whilst having hot water was inconsistent in both room with the temperature going from cold to very hot every minute.
The room whilst large did not have a chair to sit on, only an office chair.
The plug sockets were such that plugs fell out after being put in.

Whilst it is a new hotel with potential, the irritating faults mean that it is not yet good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Quinn 88,

Thank you for your comment about our hotel and for having stayed with us.

We are so sorry and strongly apologize for the noise issues that you had during your stay at our hotel.

As I have stated in an earlier comment´s response, that problem has been already fixed.

Once again, we strongly apologize for that incident and we hope to have you again at Tierra Viva in the near future.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    176
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
103
306
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this hotel and enjoyed it very much. Location is perfect, very close to the main square. The rooms are clean and charmingly decorated (very nice bathroom, good shower). Our room was noisy because it faced the man street, you probably are better off with a room facing the courtyard. Breakfast is very good and the staff were helpful and friendly. This place is very good value for money, highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear MariaM,

Thank you for your excellent comment about Tierra Viva and for having stayed with us.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights with 3 kids and 2 rooms. Service and staff could not have been any nicer and more attentive. They took care of all of us quite well, and all of our needs were anticipated. Very clean rooms and well equipped facility. Great breakfast buffet also.

Room Tip: We had an interior room which after the hot bright sun was nice to come take naps in and cool off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Margaret M,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for considering Tierra Viva a “wonderful hotel”.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed at Tierra Viva for 2 weeks with my sister. This hotel located close the many shops, restaurants and major tourist attractions. Location is fabulous.
The rooms are very clean and large with super comfortable beds and great bed sheets.
The staff and manager of the hotel is professional and friendly.
Highly recommended, ask for a room facing the interior court.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiat5cento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear IdaFiat,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for highly recommending us to the rest of travelers.

Best Regards,

Managing Director
Rodrigo Lazarte
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was very well located a short walk from Plaza de Armas and from Covento Sta Catalina. Clean, well furnished rooms, nice bathroom, good warm water.
Only problem was in the first room we were given, we heard a lot of noise that came from the water heater on the roof. We asked to change room for the 2nd night, which was much better.
Breakfast room is cold, but unfortunately this is a Peruvian habit.
Go have a look on the roof terrace, the view on the city and volcanoes is beautiful.

Lastly, the price at reservation is given in US dollars, but then if you want to pay in local currency, the exchange rate used is very high. They prefer you to pay in $ by credit card! (same in Tierra Viva hotel in Cusco).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvisorJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear AdvisorJames,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment and for having stayed at Tierra Viva.

We also want to thank you for letting us know about that noise problem that you are referring in your comment, and tell you that it has already been fixed.

We hope to have you again at any of our hotels very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel is a fantastic place to stay while in Arequipa Peru. The location, staff, service and hospitality is exceptionally superb. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends, family and anyone who is looking for an excellent sleep while staying in Arequipa. I couldn't thank the hotel and staff enough. Muchas Gracies!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. We stayed in room 204.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Ralph S,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for considering us a “Superb” hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future at any of out hotels.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

As in the title of my review service was over the top outstanding. Rooms were clean. Location was perfect. One of our 2 rooms was quite noisy, the other nice and quiet. Sorry i forget which was noisy so check.ask before getting room assignment. i am sure that the super helpful/friendly staff will help

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slabotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TierraViva01, Director General at Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear rachelslabotsky,

Thank you for your excellent comment and for having stayed at our hotel.

All our rooms have been built to be sound proof; therefore, we will revise your room in detail to see what the problem was and solved immediately.

Once again, thank you for your comment, and we hope to have you again with us very soon.

Best Regards,

Rodrigo Lazarte
Managing Director
Tierra Viva Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Select Arequipa
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel

Property: Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Address: C/ Jerusalen 202, Areq 01, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookAssist, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing