We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun. Delicious traditional food. Huge portions”
Review of La Nueva Palomino

La Nueva Palomino
Ranked #11 of 391 Restaurants in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Paris, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great fun. Delicious traditional food. Huge portions”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Nothing more to say. The restaurant is HUGE but get there before 1 if you want to be seated. I had two appetizers and they were enormous. The waiters and hostesses all wear traditional Peruvian outfits. No one speaks English but that is ok. The most traditional dishes are the best. If you can make it through the appetizer, the pork dishes are even more copious.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Guest Relations Manager at La Nueva Palomino, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review,was really helpful, we are working on improved the english level on our waiters and hostesses , we are so glad you enjoy your meal with us, we are looking forward to serve you again thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    824
    527
    122
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good but not amazing”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Nice place, the size of the plates are huge but this was not the best adobo or buñuelos that i´ve tried.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claudialejandra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food.”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nice restaurant. Food was very good with generous portions, and the restaurant itself has a nice ambiance. (but nothing fancy.) Worth a short cab ride from the center of town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baston_Lima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh food, much food and good service in a lovely restaurant”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The location and restaurant is very nice. We did need to search for it though. The staff is very friendly and the food was fresh and amazingly much!! You sure should visit this place, its not expensive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
2 reviews
“A must for local Cuisine”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I ate lunch at Nueva Palomino the other day, and was very pleased with the food. and service. In fact this was the best service I have had in Arequipa. The waiters are prompt, friendly, attentive and professional, and the food was well above average. I didn't particularly like my main course of Chupete de Camarones, but that was a personal taste thing more than a quality thing. It was very well prepared and the waiter suggested that I split it with my love because we both had large appetizers and the Chupete is huge. The best part of the visit was their Recoto Relleno which is now my new favorite food. It's a traditional local dish that consists of a huge spicy chilly pepper stuffed with meat and goodies and topped with cheese, and as if that weren't enough it comes complete with a huge portion cheesy potato bake! All of the dishes I saw around the restaurant looked great, and I will frequent Nueva Palomino in the future as I plan to return often to Arequipa. Don't miss this!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drittgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nueva Palomino also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to La Nueva Palomino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing