We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Typical Food and Service”
Review of La Nueva Palomino

La Nueva Palomino
Ranked #15 of 410 Restaurants in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Typical Food and Service”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A very good "typical" restaurant in Arequipa, and when many of the locals go there you can expect it to be really good. However, on occasion you will find places that cater more to the locals than to tourists, and that was the impression I got at La Nueva Palomino.

The place is down an alley and not real easy to find, but once inside you will find the place very comfortable and the service fairly fast. The food was also very good, perhaps a little on the pricey side due to the popularity of the restaurant. But somehow I felt like I was just one more tourist that either has to be tolerated or that does not spend as much as they would like, in any case I did not have a real warm and fuzzy feeling at the restaurant. And personally, I think the uniforms that the servers where are a little on the corny side, but I am not a local so what do I know.

In summary, it was a fine dining experience, but nothing that wowed me.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotopala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    845
    540
    124
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great lunch, great service, great value”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had lunch here per our guide's recommendation, it was a fantastic experience. There was a guitarist playing traditional Peruvian music and singing for the whole lunch, so the ambiance was perfect. The food is delicious and you get a mountain of it for a really low price. Unlike other places we ate, we didn't see many gringos here which was a nice change. The rocoto relleno was delicious, with tender bits of chopped steak inside and comes with an awesome pastel de papas as a side dish. Our kids loved the chicharon de pollo which was plated with a pyramid of rice and tomato hollowed out for dipping sauce(mayo), which they loved. Overall this was one of the best meals we had in Arequipa, they have fresh picarones(donuts) as well but we were too full to indulge. Service was great. Highly recommended if you want to sample the classic 'picanteria' foods.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aegir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I was with my closest friends visiting Arequipa for the first time and the food was well done and we enjoyed the kindness and the great food.

Helpful?
Thank Dmgs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Incompetent service and below average food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having read the good reviews we were looking forward to a great lunch here. Sadly, it was not to be.

It is a nicely laid out place with plenty of space. We were shown to our table upstairs and, as we had not been in Arequipa long, we ordered their house special sharing platter. We were told it would take 15 mins as it was freshly cooked.

After 45 mins the platter was served to us with apologies that a few components were missing and that these would be delivered in 10 mins. As we started to eat, we realised that they had served us the wrong platter. We called back the waiter who argued that this was not the case so we got him to bring a menu and went through the list and he then accepted that he was wrong and took the platter away. Another 10 mins and it was brought back to us still with some items missing. Having almost given up the will to live at this point, we decided to just accept it and eat what we had, despite the fact that some items were cold and others had clearly been microwaved. Clearly freshly cooked means something else at this place.

5 mins later the waiter returns with the another waitress and starts to lean across me poking his finger at the food, chats away to the waitress and tries to take the platter away. I move his hands away from in front of my face and eventually both he and the waitress go away. Another few minutes later, yet another waiter arrives, starts to try and remove our platter saying that he will replace it with a fresh one. We say no thanks, he ignores this saying that we will not have to pay and takes the platter anyway!

As we leave the restaurant we notice that the places is swarming with waiters and cooks. There must have been 30 -40 staff working and probably less that 15 customer. How they can get it so wrong even with that staff to customer ratio I will never know.

OK they didn't charge us but that really is not the point. The management need to take a good look at their processes to ensure that this sort of thing does not happen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank crellston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Platters of Delicious Arequipan Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We sat upstairs in this traditional Arequipan restaurant and shared several paltters of delicious local and Peruvian dishes. Great atmosphere and good service.The "chupe de camerones" is a soup with sweet potatoes and small fresh water crayfish, which is a speciality of Arequipa. The "rocoto relleno con camerones" is a hot pepper stuffed with camerones which is also a local favorite and is delicious. Ask for shared patters of the chefs recommendation and you will experience a delightful range of excellent food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nueva Palomino also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to La Nueva Palomino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing