We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good, but they could include a little more.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mochileros Beds and Rest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mochileros Beds and Rest
Ranked #25 of 152 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but they could include a little more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Compared to other hostels that I got to look into in Arequipa, this one is clean, fresh, cosy and provides well for what you need. It's a little more expensive than others by maybe S/.5 - and others for example will provide a towel, or use of the kitchen, where Mochileros, want S/.5 more - the sort of "yes we have it, but you have to pay more for it" feel.

The kitchen can get busy at times, and one of the 4 gas rings wasn't working, so that can create a bag log if you are waiting to cook something up.

All in all I was happy with my 6 days here, I think other places might have been a little more party places, this was for me, just right! Note: Other hostels are nearer the plaza too, and usually older more colonial type buildings. I paid S/.25 per night including the breakfast, used my own travel towel, and just paid S/.5 once for the use of the kitchen for four of us, so it worked out ok.

Room Tip: I think the hostel moves you around a little, if they say have a booking for 4, and there are only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesTravelling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
7
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I'm here right now in the Living room, small dorms, clean & quiet. Only 3 blocks from the plaza and has a great balcony view of the volcano :) pay extra for towels and to use the kitchen- that why the 4 stars and not 5. Pool table, big kitchen, hot water :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Rosa8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taganga, Colombia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This hostel looks like a total winner from the outset. Amazingly well stocked kitchen, clean, modern rooms and bathrooms, murals on the walls, fast WiFi etc.

Do not be fooled by the "beds and rest" motto of this hostel. When we came to see it and accepted the room (Sunday) we did not realise there was a building site with pneumatic drill in operation from 7.30am directly opposite and of course no one pointed it out. Ok that's not their fault, but on our third night there, we had to get out of bed and ask three different groups of people to be quiet - at 4.30 (a group who had been drinking outside all night), 5am, and 5.45, by which time the sun was coming up. The staff were nowhere to be seen and clearly did not enforce the 'quiet after 11pm' rule. Appallingly disrespectful from other guests. One guy (the 5am person) obviously arrived on an overnight bus, then sat in reception and proceeded to shout down his mobile phone in a very loud voice until I went down and said something. The receptionist who let him in? Nowhere to be seen.

The hostel's design is really flawed. The place is echoey and there is no distance between shared spaces and private rooms. To be fair to the guests who kept us up, having a patio directly beneath someone's crappy window is a bad idea. So is having the TV area RIGHT OUTSIDE someone's room, so that even during the day you can hear every word being said and there is no privacy. Avoid room number 5 whatever you do.

Next day we moved to another, albeit dingier, room and were grateful for the quieter location...until we realised it was a WiFi dead zone. Normally this wouldn't be an issue but I am working on the road and need internet in my room. Again the staff weren't too bothered - to be fair they reset the router but if it doesn't reach, it doesn't reach.

I have never before obtained a refund and left a hostel early, but at the end of the day if you're not in a party hostel (which this patently isn't...there's not even a bar) then all you want is sleep and reliable internet....and this place gave us neither.

No amount of pretty murals or kitchen equipment can make up for that.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We are (actually currently) staying at Mochileros for a 4 day period, and find the facilities very appropriate, there are common areas, breakfast is included, the rooms are rather spacious and clean, bathrooms freshly renovated, the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great - a 7 minute walk from the main square, but off the party track (and not a party hostel itself). Have to pay additional USD2 a day in case you want to use the kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zanda_and_mael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

It is clean, cosy and the rooms are great. The dorms have big lockers and the showers are actually hot (I burned myself :-P ). I got sick and the receptionist called a doktor, and they cared about me. The common rooms and terras are nice, and have a lot of games. Only downer is that they are constructing nearby, buy close the window and you don't hear it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yoqneam israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have stayed there for about a week and a half. Great staff, good location,clean and tidy. Sometimes there are problems with wifi or the hot water, but not something too uncomfortable. The hostel works with a tour guide named miguel, who was very helpfull. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamlevari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I arrived in Arequipa at 3am after taking a night bus from Tacna. The receptionist was happy to receive me despite the late hour, and the rate is very reasonable. The location is great- within a short walking distance to Plaza de Armas and the San Camilo market- my favourite place to eat.
The kitchen is well-equipped with a juicer, stove and a thermos of aguas caliente, which is good for drinking tea (free of charge). The dorms were clean with their own bathrooms and televisions, and it is restricted to 4 beds to a room, so it is never crowded. I will definitely come back here next time I visit Arequipa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.2 mi away
Hostal Wayra River
Hostal Wayra River
#24 of 152 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
475.1 mi away
Park Hostel
Park Hostel
#18 of 152 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Caminante Class
El Caminante Class
#22 of 152 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal Santa Catalina
Hostal Santa Catalina
#41 of 152 in Arequipa
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#4 of 152 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mochileros Beds and Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mochileros Beds and Rest

Property: Mochileros Beds and Rest
Address: Calle Cuzco 101, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mochileros Beds and Rest 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
comfortable rooms-private bathrooms-hot water 24 hs.- terrace-complete kitchen equipment- laundry service-common room tv 32'' pool-bar-internet-free transfer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mochileros Beds and Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing