We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good kitchen, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mochileros Beds and Rest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mochileros Beds and Rest
Ranked #24 of 163 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Good kitchen, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I arrived in Arequipa at 3am after taking a night bus from Tacna. The receptionist was happy to receive me despite the late hour, and the rate is very reasonable. The location is great- within a short walking distance to Plaza de Armas and the San Camilo market- my favourite place to eat.
The kitchen is well-equipped with a juicer, stove and a thermos of aguas caliente, which is good for drinking tea (free of charge). The dorms were clean with their own bathrooms and televisions, and it is restricted to 4 beds to a room, so it is never crowded. I will definitely come back here next time I visit Arequipa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
9
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I loved this place!

I was at another hostel in Arequipa that I did not like. I shopped around Arequipa inspecting the different options. I looked at many hostels and I agree Mochileros has the best value for your money!

The place and all the rooms were very clean. You can tell the owner takes a lot of pride in keeping the place immaculate. The shower was HOT, HOT, HOT!!!! The location is perfect. It is within walking distance from the main square and on a quiet street. I loved the big lockers to lock up your personal belongings. I also liked the common areas like the kitchen, balcony, and tv room.

My only complaint is the mattresses. They unfortunately were not very comfortable. The staff also needs to learn a little English. This will hopefully come with time. I got to practice my Spanish so that was a good thing.

I highly recommend Mochileros in Arequipa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Every room is immaculate
Everything is reasonably priced
It is located just 5 minutes wall from the main square

My only criticism is that the reception staff could be more friendly, they are aloof and you get the impression that you may be in the way

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent home for Mochileros great value for money offers free WIFI free tea , complete kitchen for self cooking including everything in it , in your free time you can play pool with real professional pool table , excellent service the only cons is that the room is a bit crowded hot water when when cloudy are not hot enough

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaychuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had orginally planned to stay at Arequipa Backpackers which is located right across the road from this place. But we changed our booking after spotting this place and asking for a tour. The rooms are MUCH nicer and cheaper. The double was only 50 soles compared to 65 we were charged at Arequipa Backpackers, cleaner, nicer and larger.

OK, it is a lot quiter than a normal hostel but we welcomed that and had a relaxing stay - even if it was just for one night. The reception girl is super friendly and very willing to help you out. It is a new-ish place (1yr open) so they are just getting started.

Unfortuneately, we cant comment on the breakfast as we had an early flight the next morning so we were not around for it. However, upon hearing that we would not be present for breakfast the girl reduced the room price to 40 soles!!! Awesome. At no other place have they done that. So that was a nice surprise.

Will defo be back!

Dolores & Graham

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.2 mi away
Hostal Wayra River
Hostal Wayra River
#30 of 163 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#5 of 163 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gran Hospedaje
Gran Hospedaje
#42 of 163 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
475.1 mi away
Park Hostel
Park Hostel
#29 of 163 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tambo del Solar Hotel
Tambo del Solar Hotel
#19 of 163 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mochileros Beds and Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mochileros Beds and Rest

Property: Mochileros Beds and Rest
Address: Calle Cuzco 101, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mochileros Beds and Rest 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
comfortable rooms-private bathrooms-hot water 24 hs.- terrace-complete kitchen equipment- laundry service-common room tv 32'' pool-bar-internet-free transfer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mochileros Beds and Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing