We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good kitchen, friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mochileros Beds and Rest
Ranked #29 of 176 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I arrived in Arequipa at 3am after taking a night bus from Tacna. The receptionist was happy to receive me despite the late hour, and the rate is very reasonable. The location is great- within a short walking distance to Plaza de Armas and the San Camilo market- my favourite place to eat.
The kitchen is well-equipped with a juicer, stove and a thermos of aguas caliente, which is good for drinking tea (free of charge). The dorms were clean with their own bathrooms and televisions, and it is restricted to 4 beds to a room, so it is never crowded. I will definitely come back here next time I visit Arequipa!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

I loved this place!

I was at another hostel in Arequipa that I did not like. I shopped around Arequipa inspecting the different options. I looked at many hostels and I agree Mochileros has the best value for your money!

The place and all the rooms were very clean. You can tell the owner takes a lot of pride in keeping the place immaculate. The shower was HOT, HOT, HOT!!!! The location is perfect. It is within walking distance from the main square and on a quiet street. I loved the big lockers to lock up your personal belongings. I also liked the common areas like the kitchen, balcony, and tv room.

My only complaint is the mattresses. They unfortunately were not very comfortable. The staff also needs to learn a little English. This will hopefully come with time. I got to practice my Spanish so that was a good thing.

I highly recommend Mochileros in Arequipa!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Every room is immaculate
Everything is reasonably priced
It is located just 5 minutes wall from the main square

My only criticism is that the reception staff could be more friendly, they are aloof and you get the impression that you may be in the way

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent home for Mochileros great value for money offers free WIFI free tea , complete kitchen for self cooking including everything in it , in your free time you can play pool with real professional pool table , excellent service the only cons is that the room is a bit crowded hot water when when cloudy are not hot enough

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaychuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

We had orginally planned to stay at Arequipa Backpackers which is located right across the road from this place. But we changed our booking after spotting this place and asking for a tour. The rooms are MUCH nicer and cheaper. The double was only 50 soles compared to 65 we were charged at Arequipa Backpackers, cleaner, nicer and larger.

OK, it is a lot quiter than a normal hostel but we welcomed that and had a relaxing stay - even if it was just for one night. The reception girl is super friendly and very willing to help you out. It is a new-ish place (1yr open) so they are just getting started.

Unfortuneately, we cant comment on the breakfast as we had an early flight the next morning so we were not around for it. However, upon hearing that we would not be present for breakfast the girl reduced the room price to 40 soles!!! Awesome. At no other place have they done that. So that was a nice surprise.

Will defo be back!

Dolores & Graham

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fleabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ronaldo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Marta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
475.1 mi away
Park Hostel
Park Hostel
#19 of 176 in Arequipa
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Caminante Class
El Caminante Class
#22 of 176 in Arequipa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#7 of 176 in Arequipa
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabu Hostel
Cabu Hostel
#6 of 176 in Arequipa
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orkkowasi Casa de Montana
Orkkowasi Casa de Montana
#56 of 102 in Arequipa
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mochileros Beds and Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mochileros Beds and Rest

Address: Calle Cuzco 101, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range: $12 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Mochileros Beds and Rest 1.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Rooms-private Bathrooms-hot Water 24 Hs.- Terrace-complete Kitchen Equipment- Laundry Service-common Room Tv 32'' Pool-bar-internet-free Transfer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Mochileros Beds and Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing