We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location good, very few room facilities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location good, very few room facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Located in cleaner, more pedestrianized part of town not far from main plaza opposite monastery.

Hotel composed mainly of stone walls giving somewhat a cold, poorly lit welcome behind an iron gate and small square.

Anything above ground level feels like a hospital with white artex walls and worn out dirty carpets. Needs modernising!

Rooms are small and difficult to live around two suitcases. No effort to decorate any rooms, or replace rusty bars over the showers or loose laminate flooring. No tea, coffee facilities however you get an old empty fridge I never used anyway.

My advise if you have to stay here due to joining a tour group in my case is ask for a twin room, second or third floor with balcony over garden (away from streets). Double beds are too small anyway for two people.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Workshy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    125
    71
    19
    16
See reviews for
46
109
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed twice, before and after visiting the Colca Canyon. Best to request room on top floor; very nice views of the city. Nice breakfast. Wi-fi works only in lobby. Also have 2 computers for guest usage. Very nice location--a couple of blocks from the Plaza de Armas and across the street from the Monestary de St. Catherine. We'd stay there again if we return to Arequipa.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

The best part of this hotel is it's location- 2 blocks from the Plaza, and across the street from the monastery. They also have a great breakfast. However, the rooms are in need of some updates- new carpeting, bathroom appliances, and perhaps a painting or something other than just the tv on the walls. The place has an "old" smell, too. It's a decent value if you book online. However, not worth the prices posted at the front desk in my opinion.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliakg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a lovely looking hotel, very charming and full of character. The room had a slightly odd smell ( maybe a smoking room in the past?) but a great view over the little garden and over to the looming volcano ( this was a suprise as it was covered by mist when we got there so only noticed it the next morning.)The room was small but had everything we needed and the bed was comfy. There was plenty to eat at breakfast but as we were there off season the restaurant wasn't open in the evening - not a problem, the hotel is in a great location with a huge choice of great places to eat nearby. Friendly staff, and good service. The only complaint ( apart from the odd smell ) would be that it got a little cold at night - and there was no kettle. This seemed to be a fairly common theme everywhere we stayed during our trip though so not hotel specific!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdctew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

I'm writing this review at 4:00 a.m. after having been awoken by the music from the night club(s) in the neighborhood. This is the second night here, last night it only went on to 2:00 a.m. This is a nice hotel, with good breakfast included, but what's the point if you can't sleep even with ear plugs in?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJDill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here 13th Oct after flying in from Lima and returned on the 15th Oct 2011 after staying at the Colca Canyon Lodge.
Only a five minute walk to the town centre and opposite the monastery and a short walk to Chich restaurant ( see reviews in TAdvisor).Ground floor area very pretty and encompasses the old monastery walls.Breakfast was well stocked and lot's of variety.
On both occasions we had a nice view of the mountains.However the only problem was the noise from the nightclubs.The beds were comfortable and we even experienced a Earth tremor.
Electric points in the rooms were also in need of repair.
That's the only gripes really In what was a good stay.It didn't put us off during our stay and the Staff were very helpful even when storing our bags when we left for the Colca.
N.B Our friend's who also stayed said they did not hear the noise(They were staying near the front of the hotel)

Room Tip: Near the front of Hotel away from the nightclub noise,Floors 4 and 5 offer the best views of Arequip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderinggeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Lovely location opposite the convent and in the middle of everything and very pretty ground floor and garden. Good breakfast.
However a hotel has to be all about a good nights sleep and a very lound nightclub nearby means if your room faces the back you wont get any sleep until 5am (we even tried earplugs).
Shame and not the hotels fault.
It is a little noisy anyway as hard floors mean you hear all the footsteps on your floor and above and below.

Room Tip: ask to face the convent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Andina Select Arequipa
0.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Classic Arequipa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio

Property: Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio
Address: Calle Santa Catalina 300, Arequipa 054, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located in the historical center of Lima, this is the ideal hotel for you to visit Peru, nearby the Presidential Palace, the Main Square, the Cathedral, and the Park of the Reserve which offers one of the greatest Water Tour in the world.The Riviera Hotel is a living reference of Lima culture and society of the 50s. It is a Classical Republican hotel.Our Hotel offers you 160 spacious and comfortable Rooms, and Suites.Room amenities: TV cable, Fridge, Telephone, Hair dryer, Mini Bar, Air conditioning, Non-Smoking Rooms, Breakfast buffet, 24-hours Daily maid service, Restaurant and Lounge Bar, Fax, Wireless Internet (Wi-FI), Laundry service, and Meeting Facilities. Personalized service and multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing