We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the market tour too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peruvian Cooking Experience

Peruvian Cooking Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.50*
and up
Peruvian Cooking Experience in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: "On hands" activity where, together with local cooks, you prepare typical peruvian food while chatting and learning about this wonderful city.Two optional additions to book, the Market Tour and the Pisco Lecture (learn to make Pisco Sour)The activity is held in Casa de Avila Hotel and you get a discount if you are a guest. Price includes: all equipment and supplies needed plus the food prepared (beginner and main course), desser, soft drinks and water. You have wine and bear as extras if required. A great cultural souvenir you can take from this friendly and beautiful city. Great location.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take the market tour too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Three of us took the cooking class with tour of the market. Highly recommend you take the market tour – it is huge with so many foods we don’t see in the US. Got to try some of the fruits. Also saw herbs and items for medicinal and spiritual purposes (dried alpaca fetuses!) Our guide was excellent. Really liked that the class is hands on. Everyone got into the cooking. We got to eat our meal and then had a pisco sour lesson which include the history of pisco. From the owner. Well worth the price and an enjoyable few hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    50
    7
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fun! Delicious food! Friendly chefs :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The cooking is set outdoors in a peaceful courtyard. The food was delicious and is for people of all levels of cooking who love food!
Would recommend doing the class in the morning so that you can attend the market tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lobcs8488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“the best around the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

tasty, falvorful, delicious, with a wholoe variety of disehs, you can try everything depending on the region you would be.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tombatttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and informative!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We loved our cooking class! The guided tour of the market was really informative, the chef we worked with for our tour was kind and funny, and the food was delicious. I definitely felt that this tour helped me connect to not only Peruvian cuisine, but Peruvian life. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ntbown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The market tour was great and included time for us to buy some stuff on our own. You don't actually shop for your ingredients at the market so if you aren't interested in it, or have already seen the market you could just as easily skip it and wait for the group to return to start your lesson. Our guide to the market was Natalie who was awesome. One of the girls on our tour got unexpectedly sick and Natalie along with several women working in the market made sure to take care of her.
The cooking class was fun and Lady, our chef, was great. We even had a visit from Paca the tortoise. As a vegetarian, I was able to eat just as well as everyone else in the group and got the same attention in my lesson. The food was great! Plus it's in a beautiful setting out in the garden of the hotel.
I also did the Pisco Sour lesson afterward. Our teacher for this was Natalie again. She is just a blast and we had so much fun...and you get to once again try the fruits of your labor, which were pretty damn good!

I would definitely recommend this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank megmza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peruvian Cooking Experience also viewed

 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Peruvian Cooking Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing