We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Value in Peru !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azul Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azul Colonial Inn
Ranked #9 of 166 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Value in Peru !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

A great place to stay, Colonial Azul was one of our favorite stays during our three weeks in Peru. the staff was wonderful, particularly Oscar, who was always there with his kind smile wanting to please us in our every need. The hotel was beautifully decorated with a designer flare, our room was huge and the bathroom was modern and wonderful with nice thick towels and lots of hot water. The hotel location was within a good walking distance - maybe 30 minutes - to the town square and many restaurants. A nice breakfast was included each morning in the cute little kitchen area. Our stay couldnt have been better and we will stay there again when we return to Arequipa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbnlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    27
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
64
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was one of our favorite places to stay during the 2.5 weeks we were in Peru. We loved the decorations and the rooms were super comfortable. The staff, Oscar in particular, was so accomodating and really went out of their way to made sure that you had everything you needed for your stay. Breakfast was really good and they let us store our beers in the fridge to drink in the afternoons in the courtyard. They helped with all of our tour arrangements and their prices were practically identical to ones that you would find through other agencies in the main square. I would absolutely stay here again in a heartbeat if I was in Arequipa again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parad1ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you want a quite place to stay, not far from the main square (just about 30 mins walk, maybe less), where you can feel at home, please visit this beautiful hotel. The only drawback I found was that they didn't accept Visa while I was there, so I had to exchange money, but it's ok if you always have cash with you. One detail is that the check in starts at 2:30 pm, which is a bit late, but it didn't affected us because we could use their comfortable patio, and they even kept our luggage while we were in Colca for two days, which was great.

Room Tip: Beds are standard, so try to book a double room if you travel with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luiseduardocg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a wonderful experience staying in what proved to be the best value for money establishment we - an eclectic group. of 5 - visited on our Peruvian travels. The colorful furnishings have a designer flair whilst being functional.The charming and attentive owner, Draga, was always at hand to offer advice and assistance. Ever present Oscar never loses the innocent wide smile that seems to make all he does a joyous experience. A word of advice for prospective guests.......be sure to book in advance, the hotel is becoming very popular and accommodation is limited.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms, artful decor and delicious breakfast. The staff are very helpful. Please note you can only pay in cash (despite the Visa sign in the window) and knowing some Spanish is also useful.

Make sure you take a hotel map with you as the taxi drivers have some trouble finding the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DeepBlue80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Thanks so much for a great stay. We originally were booked for 2 nights, but due to the earthquake in Chile, we were a day late. The staff immediately understood and only charged us the one night. They were also very responsive to emails. The hotel itself is full of charm and character. Oscar was very helpful at check in and check out. And the breakfast was excellent. Thanks so much. A real gem of a place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larry2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This b&b was a little further away from the main square than we had originally wanted, but we could walk to plaza de armas in about 15min. The hotel is very secure, with friendly and helpful staff. The common spaces are comfortable and well designed, the rooms are clean and quiet. It felt a little bit like an oasis in the city

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilHalPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.6 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#8 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Ana-Peru
La Casa de Ana-Peru
#19 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Andina Select Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Colonial Inn

Property: Azul Colonial Inn
Address: Calle Lima 617, Cerrito San Vicente | Yanahuara, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Azul Colonial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Azul Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing