We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Scandinavia House
Ranked #24 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Santa Fe Springs, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Scandinavia Hostal and Jehssely (owner) was very friendly and made you feel at home. She was very helpful in trying to help us locate our lost luggage. Its well situated; about a couple of minutes walk to the Plaza de Armas in Arequipa. A cozy place that I recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    42
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
38
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I only got to spend 1 night at the Scandinavia House, but wish I could have stayed longer. The location is perfect: in a quiet, safe street a few blocks from the main plaza. The room was large and clean, with a very comfortable king size bed, couch, TV, fridge… The bathroom is small but functional.
What I loved about this place is the relaxed / homey feel to it: the owner is very friendly and welcoming. You can tell they put a lot of effort into making their guests feel comfortable.
Breakfast is basic but nothing to complain about.
I highly recommend this hostel and would surely stay there again. One of my favorite hostels I stayed at during my trip to Peru.
Oh, and the rooftop view is unbelievable, especially at sunrise!! (picture attached)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prisc105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed here twice over the span of a week. Jehssely (the owner) was amazing. She made you feel more like a friend than a guest. I had problems with my flights which she went out of her way to help me with, as well as assisting me with bus travel. Great location only a few blocks from the main square. The views from the roof top patio are unreal, and a great way to start you day with cocoa tea and breakfast. I would definitely recommend Hostal Scandanavia as a place to stay in Arequipa. It was the best valued place I stayed at in Peru and easily the most welcoming.

Greg

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravelJunky19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

this COULD BE a great hostel but they need to put some work into it.

When i was there they were doing some work on the place so this should be good news for future guests. Bathrooms dont have toilet paper which was my first experience of this so i was a bit put out.

the rooms wasnt the best and the door stuck like the door in spider man

the bathrooms were huge but needed work to be better

there was a lounge which i wasnt sure if was for guests or for the family. it wasnt clear if the woman is the only one working here when i asked the man something he responded with an obvious attitude.

I wanted to stay in town a while so i left the next day.

its a beautiful house, the female owner is lovely

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelButtefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great location, friendly staff...they are doing a lot of renovations, and I'm sure that this will be the top hostel in Arequipa once they are done! The rooftop views alone are worth it!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Chai_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My best hostel experience. Enjoy the price and the view. Everything you need is in walking distance ... Great place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Face33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I know that we were asked to leave a review here by the staff and I will but I doubt it´s what they wanted to hear. This place is not the best option. We were on a tight budget and from the reviews we thought what better place to stay?! For 20soles we were happy enough to stay in a dorm room without a bathroom. (shared bathrooms are ok) Breakfast is not included. The people live in the hostel so you share the kitchen with the family, also sharing the lounge room with the family so you watch whatever they watch on tv. The computer wasn´t working the day we arrived, they say it´s really bad on Sundays, unfortunately Monday was no better. The hostel is barely held together, paint peeling in the rooms, the beedsheets are worn, the bathrooms are falling apart and we were told that there is no hot water in the shared bathrooms, that we had to ask to use a private bathroom to get hot showers. I really don´t understand the rave reviews, fork out an extra 5soles and stay somewhere MUCH nicer a block nearer to the plaza.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly_Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Orange Enjoy Hostel
Orange Enjoy Hostel
#19 of 179 in Arequipa
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Isabel
Casa de Isabel
#32 of 179 in Arequipa
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maycawasi Hostel
Maycawasi Hostel
#20 of 179 in Arequipa
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casablanca Hostal
Casablanca Hostal
#30 of 179 in Arequipa
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tambo del Solar Hotel
Tambo del Solar Hotel
#33 of 173 in Arequipa
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cazorla Hostel
Cazorla Hostel
#27 of 179 in Arequipa
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Scandinavia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Scandinavia House

Property: Hostal Scandinavia House
Address: Calle Ugarte 314 - cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Scandinavia House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial House built in 1700, located in the center historic city of Arequipa, whose name means (Ari quepay = tarry here.) Located on the right side Private Monastery of Nuns of the Order of St. Catherine of Siena. "Founded on 10 September 1579. We enjoy a panoramic terrace ... stunning watching of our towering volcanoes MISTI, CHACHANI, PICHUPICHU. It's right place, to rest as home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Scandinavia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing