We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casona Plaza Hotel AQP
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Upton upon Severn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location”
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The only reason that it did not archive five stars was the horrible breakfast. However every other feature of the hotel was great, the room was large, if a little noisy and had a strong wi fi reception. The evening meal was, much nicer than the breakfast, with a choice of food that included many cultures.
Over all this was a great stay, the location was brilliant, near the beautiful main square.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Qwertyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    103
    34
    12
    6
See reviews for
36
96
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

3 star hotel rather than 4
Nice beds, complementary arrival drink
Breakfast not up to scratch with the 4 star rating
You can get eggs, you just need to ask them otherwise you have to settle for boring cornflakes

Room Tip: Ask for eggs for breakfast, don't expect for them to come to you and ask you if you want your eg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The location of this hotel is good, being only 4 blocks from the main square through a nice shopping district. For my initial stay everything was fine (except there were no instructions to work the safe, and the staff couldn't seem to help), but on my return from Colca Canyon I was in a different room. Here the shower didn't work properly and there was no hot water. The window also overlooked the noisy stairwell rather than outside. The staff were generally helpful providing a laundry service (if a bit pricey) and wake up calls and passing on messages. I would stay here again, but in a room at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not one overlooking the stairwell
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ClareJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingborough
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We travelled independently to south America recently. One of the best hotels we stayed in was the Casona Plaza in Arequipa, Peru. We were recommended to stay there by a French couple we met in St.Pedro de Atacama. It is a comfortable, up to date hotel with a good buffet breakfast and centrally situated. We were particularly impressed with how the staff helped us when I had a big problem with altitude sickness and they let us stay on a late check out basis and called a local english speaking doctor. It is also worth mentioning that they have a sister hotel in Puno which we did not stay at but had a tour around and it was about the best hotel in that city. A very comfortable stay for us in Arequipa and wish we had stayed in the Puno one.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mally80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had a very enjoyable stay. On arrival check in was quick and we were shown to our room on the first floor. The room was large and clean with 2 double beds, TV and spacious bathroom.The hotel is a few minutes walk from the main square (Plaza del Armas) and all the sights Arequipa has to offer. The buffet breakfast was excellent, lots of choice including freshly cooked omelettes. There is a PC in reception with internet access that is free to use and pretty fast connection. We loved Arequipa and would recommend visiting the local market with all it's colourful foods, smells and sounds. The Santa Catalina Monastery is well worth a visit, as is the Museo Santuarios Andinos - home to the ice mummies. We were lucky enough to visit when the most famous mummy Juanita was on display. Very interesting video and well preserved artifacts.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, USA
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I really enjoyed my experience at this hotel. My family and I were treated very well, our room were clean, and the breakfast buffet was quite good. Totally worth what we paid for.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Based on very good reviews in some sites, we were expecting much more of this hotel... 4 stars is much overrated, the hotel deserves 3 at best. The room was more or less OK. Breakfast was basic. The second morning when there was a tourist group present, plates were constantly empty and people had to wait to get cheese or ham. A woman in reception looked really ill but was still at work (thats really unpleasant, as when I am on a vacation I don't want to catch a flu or something). But the most unpleasant moment was when on the day of departure we had to wait for pick-up from hotel, we were allowed to use internet only for 1 hour. Then the receptionist just said that "the computer is closed". There were no other guests waiting to use it. This is not an attitude of a 4-star hotel. There are so many hotels in Arequipa that have better price, location and attitude. I would never choose this one again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sintija D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Gerente at Casona Plaza Hotel AQP, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Dear Sintija:

We are really sorry about your displeasing experience with us, and should have for sure we take note of it, and try to correct all of them as soon as possible and most important: don’t repeat it any more.

We know the quality of our service is pivotal as much as for your satisfaction and also ours.

Our staff truly appreciates your comments because they’ll help us to get better and to made the experience here one of the best.

Regards

Alexander Butrón
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
#87 of 99 in Arequipa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Agustin Posada del Monasterio
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona Plaza Hotel AQP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona Plaza Hotel AQP

Property: Casona Plaza Hotel AQP
Address: Calle San Jose 207, Arequipa 54, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona Plaza Hotel AQP 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona Plaza Hotel AQP located strategically to only a few stables of Arequipa principal Plaza – Sur del Peru offers them a modern structure of housing, restaurant, room of events and with wireless access to Internet of high speed that is free also it possesses a multilingual personnel and offers a personalized attention of the first level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Casona Plaza Hotel AQP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing