We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveler rating
111
55
16
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
111
55
16
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water nice rooftop juice stayed here for nights dorm hostel courtyard padlock soles canyon tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 196 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

The staff were friendly although spoke little English but we got by on google translate. Rooms were big, comfortable and warm. Shower had hot water (although better in the evenings - a little luke warm in the mornings). Breakfast was basic, bread rolls, jam, juice and hot drinks but I’d never complain about a free breakfast. You had to pay 3 soles to use the kitchen, which although is super cheap seems cheeky when they state that as a facility. The rooms weren’t cleaned at all during our stay, which meant that we had to constantly ask for more toilet roll (one roll between 3 girls for 3 nights isn’t enough!) and the toilet bin got a bit full. We found the whole vibe of the place odd, we were the only people staying and the way it’s run is a bit odd. The reception desk never has anyone on it so when you need anything you have to hunt for someone. They padlock the front door shut so again you have to hunt for someone to get out of the place and often wait 5-10minutes to get back in. This meant that the doorbell was often ringing for a long time at all times of the night, and when you’re trying to get out for a tour at 3am and your there ready to leave with the guide but padlocked in, it’s a bit awkward. The one time we found it not padlocked was when we’d stored our bags in the reception, and as no one was there to watch them anyone could have wondered in and taken them! We also couldn’t get towels, because they had none clean which seemed crazy in an empty hostel, that they offer towels with the rate but don’t have enough for just 4 guests? They explained it was an error with the laundrette but for a hostel that sleeps 20+ to have only one towel seemed crazy.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank lapseydb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

At the reception of the hostel there is a sign wich says that if you write a positive review you get a 10% discount. I think this is the reason that there are so many. The hostel isn’t that good. The staff are all volunteers and act accordingly. The facilities are super basic, but so is the price so maybe that’s fair. The kitchen is really disgusting though, so if you want to do your own cooking, don’t go here.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Fransien01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Recent hostel with a backpackers soul.Dorms are clean and decorated with inspired words,safe place always checked by staff. Hermosa terrasse and very nice rooftop to be when I was there( check the view on the impressive volcanos )
My ⭐⭐⭐⭐ definitely go to the staff'way to welcome you and make you feel at home.Juan has got a crazy energy for at least 8 people()and not t forget that he is a fantastic cook and Ana who will make your stay unforgettable. Muchas gracias and stay positive

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank jonperona80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

We really liked this hostel! Stayed four nights :)
Super friendly staff, clean, nice rooftop terrace, kitchen, chill atmosphere and they play good music all day long :) We stayed in the 8 person dorm room but it was very open and spacious and didn't feel like we were in a room with so many people - good lockers too.
One night when we were there they also had an Acoustic Cumbia band play which was super cool! Highly Recommend

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time here. Really Nice and helpfull People (the young lady helped is with the booking of our public bus to canyon. ). Super chill music, great cosy vibe, nice rooftop with a nice view at the mountains,. you can use the kitchen. We loved this hostel and can recommend this place definitely.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank anneleenrobaeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerolp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Positive Hostel & Backpackers - Arequipa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018
Google Translation

muchas gracias por tu comentario annele....buen viaje !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews