We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
85
56
7
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
56
7
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watergreat locationrooftop terracewould stay againovernight bushostel
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 158 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a ground floor room, which was basic but clean and secure and had a great bathroom. Good hot water early in the morning and any time after lunch. Lovely roof terrace to catch the morning and afternoon sun, with wonderful mountain views. Small kitchen with no fridge, but perfectly adequate for cooking meals. Super friendly family running the place who would help out with any query/ request. Jose was especially good at encouraging us to use our (limited) Spanish and his mother was just a delight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a wonderful hostel this is! The owner, José runs the place from his heart and does everything for you! The rooms are nice and tidy and there´s warm water. You can get towels for free and they´ll do your laundry for 3soles/kg (really cheap!). When we had stomachflu he brought us cocatea several times a day and his mom made homemade chickensoup for us. He checked now and then if we needed anything from the supermarket. This man has a heart of gold! Your stay will be nice and is quite cheap for personal rooms. The hostel is located near shops, restaurants and just 5 minutes walking to Plaza de Armas (central plaza). He also helps you with sorting out what kind of touringagency is good for the Colca Cañon trek. I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The owner, Jose, is friendly and very helpful. He seems to enjoy what he does and wants to make sure you time in Arequipa is enjoyable.

The rooms are basic and clean. There is nothing amazing about the rooms. The kitchen is tiny, but available for use. However, Jose made this place more than enjoyable.

After I checked out of the room, I was walking around Arequipa and realized that I was too sick to walk around! I went back to La Posada del Kuraka and Jose not only gave a room free of charge to rest in until my night bus, but also brought me coca/anise tea. That really is above and beyond what most places will do. Thank you, Jose.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DearJamesAlltheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was great value...pretty basic hostel but clean and the owner was so helpful and kind...he really could not have done more for us. We had read plenty of warnings about hot water being advertised but not available but there was plenty...room was really big, and beds were really comfortable, and everythihg was spotless. They kept our bags for us while we went to Colca Canyon and even let us hang out when we came back until our bus left late that evening. Easy walk into town and lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adsceptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Place has nothing fancy but it is clean, location is perfect and Jose is amazing. We got there early in the morning, room wasnt ready, he gave us another one just so that we can lay down a little bit. He helped us with a lot of stuffs. He is so relaxed and friendly he made my stay in Arequipa :)

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lauriiiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews