We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great place to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alwa Hotel Boutique

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alwa Hotel Boutique
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
405 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

From the pickup at the airport to recommendations for dinner to calling taxi's, the staff at this hotel was great! We had a large room with a king bed which overlooked the back garden. The hotel had tea available all day in the sitting area. We absolutely loved the rooftop patio (there was a river across the street).

The staff made us a welcoming Pisco Sour, and when we came back after sightseeing brought us requested snacks and beverages. They had a good breakfast every morning and would make eggs if you asked. We loved the triangular bread they served.

It was a quick taxi ride (4 soles) to town. I liked that it was a quiet neighborhood (no beeping horns all night).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImeldaMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
graz
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Th rooms were very nice. Every day flowers and fresh fruits in the room. The manager was very nice and helpful in organizing tickets for mach picchu and repairing flat tires for our car. Food was delisious too. You could order your special meal and they prepaired it like mama at home. The location near the river is nice too. Its only a small hotel but very familiar. It was our best location during our journey and we felt like at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel is located at a nice and quite place within walking distance of the city centre (15 min. walk). We loved our stay because of the great spacious room with terrace, the lovely bathroom with hot shower, the delicious breakfast (very nice bread and cheese) and last but definitely not least the excellent service of the staff. They gave us tips, would check us in for the airplane and make sure everything was as we wished for. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin-Marjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

i am your typical discriminating american tourist. i expect excellent service, excellent attention, and exceptionally clean rooms. i was going to visit arequipa and was going to stay at a typical chain hotel. on the advice of a friend who works for the exclusive american express centurion travel service, i made a reservation at the alwa hotel instead of the big chain hotel. what i found was the following an intimate charming hotel with an expansive garden, a room with a terrace overlooking a charming river, a rooftop terrace to enjoy my complimentary pisco sour while enjoying the sunset, a bathroom stocked with complimentary all natural bath products, a staff dedicated to attending to my needs at any hour including finding me a taylor to fix a pair of pants the morning of my business meeting. rooms and bedding that were exceptionally clean . large, generous bath towels and piping hot water. why the long commentary i own my own business and when i experience an excellent product or service at bargain prices i think it is important to leave my comments.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONYRIZZI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

A few words about our stay at the Alway Hotel Boutique....you will be welcomed as a Prince. The room is spacious, the breakfast is copious and the Hotel is pretty well located..at a short distance from the centre....and the people are lovely, friendly and helpful.
Have a good stay at the Alwa Hotel Boutique.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredericBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

Highly recommended! The hotel is new, clean, comfortable, in a quiet location (Vallecito), but still quite close to the historic center of Arequipa. The staff is really attentive and they have an incredible breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWokalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Amazing staff, really helpful. Rooms are bright and fresh with flat screen TV, cable, mini bar and spotless bathrooms with lovely toiletries. The hotel has wi fi and complimentry hot drinks in the lobby. About s/3-4 to get a cab to the center square or walkable. I would definitely recommend this place! Julie, UK

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ju78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
Mint Hotel
Mint Hotel
#16 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen's Villa Hotel Boutique
4.5 mi away
El Lago Estelar Hotel
El Lago Estelar Hotel
#19 of 92 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Inkanto Hotel
Inkanto Hotel
#22 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casona Terrace Hotel
Casona Terrace Hotel
#32 of 92 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alwa Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alwa Hotel Boutique

Property: Alwa Hotel Boutique
Address: Malecon Chili # 9759 Urb. Los Pinos Vallecito, Arequipa 01, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alwa Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alwa Hotel Boutique is located in the peaceful neighborhood of Vallecito, Arequipa. Alwa means "Sunrise" in Aymara. Our hotel stands out due to the warmth of its personnel, a unique location, the excellent service to our customers, as well as the comfort of its facilities blended with Arequipa's blue sky and exquisite cuisine. Besides the excellent service, we are committed to operate respecting our community and the environment by installing water and energy saving systems in all of our locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alwa Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing