We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, cheap place to stay, nice rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Posada del Virrey
Ranked #92 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Golden, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good, cheap place to stay, nice rooftop”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights during my month long trip in Peru. This was the cheapest place I stayed at (there were cheaper choices but I do have some standards) for 45 soles/night ($17) for a private room with shared bath for my girlfriend and I. It was about a 10 minute walk to the main plaza. The room was pretty basic and the beds were that great but I was paying 45 soles/night. I stayed upstairs and they had a nice rooftop where people would hang out and a great view of the local volcano (misti). Met some other travelers this way. The hostel would hang up all their laundry up there though which was a bit annoying. They did have 2 large dorm rooms on the main floor and a small kitchen to use upstairs. This place was always full. It was on a fairly busy street so it was a bit loud with buses roaring by though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank el_cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
1
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

we wanted to stay there for 5 nights but changed our plans after the first one. When we arrived at the hostal at 6 at night we had to ask their neighbours to help us find someone to let us in as they didn't open to door for 10 minutes. the room was small, the beds soft. at night it got damn cold as the wind could enter through the gap under the door and the gap under the window. we had to sleep in our sleeping bags and still were feeling cold. water in the bathroom was luke warm, the bathroom and kitchen dirty. we changed to the hostal posada del cacique right around the corner and were very happy about that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntiSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arequipa hotels

Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had booked room 8 for a good budget price. It has a double and single bed, and it is very spacious. Although a bit worn out, it has its charm. The toilet had a nice view of Mt Misti, the only issue was the lukewarm water. At times it did not work at all and when it did, it did not satisfy us from the cold nights of Arequipa. The rooftop patio is very nice to warm yourself up after the shower, and just to hang out. The kitchen is pretty good, it has a gas stove and all the necessary pans and utensils. The courtyard is friendly and nicely decorated, but not many people stay there. The place is super clean, the cleaning lady is always keeping busy. We got free towels. The reception has a free computer for use as well. Besides the place itself, Maria, the owner, is really amazing. Her english is not the best but she definitely tries to understand you and make you feel comfortable. Do not shy from asking her any questions, she will not pressure you to buy anything, but is instead very helpful. When we left for the bus station, she even wrote down the license plate of the taxi and called the bus station notifying them. Probably not so necessary, as we never felt unsafe in Arequipa, but a nice gesture on her part. Overall I would recommend this hostel if you are looking for a roomy budget option that is close to the Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vlade09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed 5 + 1 night in total, all very pleasant in the old mansion. The roof terrace is particularly nice, with sun from morning up until about 4-5ish in the afternoon.

The beds are quite comfortable, and the house has a small kitchen to cook your own food.

There is a lot of noise from the traffic, but then again, that's the issue with 90% of our stays in Peru or Bolivia.

The solar hot water is mostly lukewarm, the other one didn't really work for us (apparently because there was another person showering upstairs).

The owner and staff are a great help and do all they can to make the best of your stay. Luggage storage (eg when you're hiking the Colca) is free.

40 soles for a double/shared bathroom is what we paid. .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Posada Del Virrey on 3 separate occasions while in Peru. Each time we returned (Once from an El Misti Climb and once from Colca Canyon Trekking) we were always so relieved to be back. Its wonderfully spacious deck is the absolute highlight with great views of the sun set each night and comfortable furniture to lounge on. The owner, Maria is a wonderful woman who was more then helpful with anything we needed. The free luggage storage and friendly greetings each morning were a huge bonus. The cleaning staff are also great, and always seem so cheerful.

Truth be told, there is a minor downside. The chicken farm on the room next door will sometimes wake you up a bit earlier then you plan. Other then that, its a wonderful place to stay and if we are ever in Arequipa again, this is where we will come to relax. We loved it.

Room Tip: The kitchen was lacking a few key items. If you plan on cooking your own meals, make sure you have y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

A ramshackle old mansion houses dorms and private rooms around a central courtyard. A small, decently equipped kitchen; ample terraces which wrap around three sides upstairs, with chairs and tables; solar hot water upstairs, gas downstairs. Breakfast is S/5 or you can cook your own. S/40 double; S/30 single (I stayed in a room with four beds but paid only the single price). Very nice and helpful owner. Overall, a comfortable and welcoming space near the Plaza de Armas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymundo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hostel is basic and cheap, has a small kitchen and nice terrace in the sun with views on the volcano.
The location is perfect near to the center (5 minutes to the “Plaza de Armas”)

The owner is helpful but sometimes forget. When we booked she promised us a pick-up from the bus terminal which never showed up. But afterwards, she helped us organizing trips.

The rooms are basic with old furniture and the beds aren’t the bests.

!!!The rooms near the kitchen, going to the back street are very noising in the morning because of a small cock farm of the neighbor (yep, even in the city ;-) ) !!!

WIFI is available but you have to go on the terrace to have a good signal.

Sometimes, depending on the owner mood, you can get the breakfast included.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs seems to be better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alcatose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.3 mi away
MB Backpackers
MB Backpackers
#24 of 175 in Arequipa
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#10 of 169 in Arequipa
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Home Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home
#39 of 175 in Arequipa
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal San Agustin
Hostal San Agustin
#89 of 175 in Arequipa
14 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
#8 of 175 in Arequipa
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Virrey

Property: La Posada del Virrey
Address: 103 Calle Puente Grau, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Posada del Virrey 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your La Posada del Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing