We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit of heaven right next to the monastery.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicha por Gaston Acurio

Chicha por Gaston Acurio
Ranked #15 of 370 Restaurants in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven right next to the monastery.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We knew the food was good in Peru. We were expecting it to be so.
After a less than inspiring meal at "Rosa Nautica" in Lima where the shrimp were frozen, even though the restaurant is built over the sea, we were hoping for improvement in Arequipa.
We found it.

Chica por Gaston Acurio is located in a beautifully restored building, opposite the monastery on calle Santa Catalina. You will be truly blessed if you eat here.
My friend and I ordered two main meals; Lechon a la criolla and Triple Tradicion. The first included beautifully prepared, moist pork belly with a native potato gratin and green salad. The second offered three servings of traditional Peruvian cooking - ocapa, stuffed pepper and fried pork rib.
The presentation detail deserved to be photographed and I did. Our shared desert was a sinful collation of berry and cream cheese crepe, raspberry sorbet, chocolate foam and a delicate frond of caster sugar praline. I wanted to sin again, yet our meal sizes had been generous and common sense prevailed.
The service was impeccable. I have a problem with citrus and the waiter was careful to indicate all meals that could have been problematic.
Our final surprise was the price. At first we thought the amount was in US dollars. No, it was in Soles.
So when your soul is in need of a little angelic sustenance in Arequipa, you know where to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LionessGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    960
    502
    202
    82
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We were very pleased, we didn't have a booking it was a Sunday lunch time and were accommodated straight away the hostess was very friendly, wait staff attentive and helpful with drink suggestions. The food was fab! We had the alpaca burger and the goats cheese ravaoli I was asked wether I would like the pasta al dente or well done which I have never been asked before even at amazing Italian back home, nice touch. It was Cooked perfectly.
Also amazing desserts
We will defiantly return before we leave Arequipa.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Finchynadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food was really delicious with a fusion of flavours, but unfortunately the service was terrible to the extent of being almost embarassing. the Maitre d' was a snob, the service was very very slow, we had to ask for a wine list which turned out to be out of date, and by the time there was any hope of getting a bottle of wine we had almost finished eating our dinner. In a Fawlty Towers twist, we were given one desert between 4 of us as compensation, but they then included it in the bill.
The seating in the courtyard is nothing special (plastic chairs) considering the prices.
This restaurant needs to pick up on its customer service and not rely on its reputation.
If it wasnt for the quality of the food i would rate this as Terrible.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jilly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great wait staff—we got there just as they started seating for dinner, but they got us started right away on cocktails and drinks. The food was delicious and nicely appointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheFloorIsLava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went just to the bar, so this review is centered on the drinks... which are amazing!

You must taste the bartender's recommendations. Most of the drinks have pisco and peruvian fruits and vegetables... tumbo, huacatay, aji amarillo (yellow chili). Check out the pics I uploaded.

Don't remember the exact names or ingredients of the drinks but everything we tried was awesome. Hopefully this brief comments make you try and enjoy them. Cheers!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicha por Gaston Acurio also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Chicha por Gaston Acurio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing