We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Hosteria
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I loved staying here, the room was large with comfortable beds, and there were flowers and birds outside our window. The staff were friendly and helpful. They have a laundry service which is extremely expensive (paid per shirt), but they also have a deal with an external company which charges by the kilo. It cost us 16 soles (a little over 4 euros) and all our clothes were clean within a day.
The location is great, quite central yet not in a noisy street. I loved the sunny terraces and the little courtyard. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naranek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    103
    37
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
117
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice decent looking hotel. Staff is friendly. Room was clean but my bed was way too hard. (And i like normally firm beds.
Rooms at the back on the 3 th floor are really nice: modern, with a nice bathroom and bath, large windows and a great view of the vulcano but also overlooking the busiest traffic intersection of the city. If you don't mind the the noise it's a great room,
If you do, ask for a room at the inner courtyard.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dieders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This could have been a disaster stay but ended up being up there in my favourite places I stayed at in Peru. Initially they double booked our room and when we arrived at 10.30pm we had no room in the hotel...however, they dealt with this brilliantly. There was an unreserved apology immediately and they had booked us in to a more expensive hotel nearby. The reception staff personally took us in their car to that hotel and picked us up the following morning having paid the bill. On top of that we were then upgraded to a suite for the following night. The suite (302) was fantastic and felt newly finished. Everything was pristine with a big bath, large comfy bed with lovely white linen, huge bathroom mirror, log burning stove, cheap mini bar and great views of Misti & Chacani volcanoes.

We were due to move on after two nights but after the service we received we decided to stay one more night. This time we were in a normal double room (301) which was more basic but still had the comfy bed, warm shower and great views...probably better views than the suite. The gardens were beautifully kept with so much colour and there were loads of outside places where you could sit, read and relax while soaking up some sun.

I loved the feel of this little gem of a hotel and loved the feel of Arequipa City as well. A thoroughly enjoyable 3 days of my trip. Will get some photos uploaded soon.

Room Tip: Upgrade to suite 302 if you have a few extra Soles...if not request matrimonial room 301!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twjchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is along Bolivar, a great walking street with wide pedestrian areas on either side, close to the main square, monastery and great restaurants. The gated entry courtyard is filled with plants, birds and a fountain. The sun deck has a great view of the volcano and comfortable furniture. The rooms are clean and comfortable , with thick white bath towels. Helpful staff are always available at the front desk. The breakfast was delicious. We had laundry done and delivered to our room at an incredible cheap price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great hotel very central location just a short walk up from the square.The hotel itself is nothing from the outside but lovely courtyard inside and lovely patio area to rest in.The staff were great especailly the little lady who wanted to carry our packs up to our rooms.The rooms are great and large,beds are good.The staff were excellent in keeping our bags safe while we went to the condo

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petermoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here before and after a Colca Canyon trip. Our first room was spacious with a second room attached. Very clean and comfortable with lovely views from the roof terrace just outside. The second was smaller, again comfortable but the shower floor needed cleaning. I think some leaves etc had blown in through the open window over the shower tray. We had no problems with hot water or noise (top floor) and found the breakfast very pleasant - standard guesthouse fruit juice, fruit, scrambled egg, tea or coffee.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank silverbike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

With only one night in Arequipa, my daughters and I wanted to maximize our time in the city by staying in a place that was walking distance to all the sites. La Hosteria was perfect: The Santa Catalina convent was right across the street, our room was "apartment-like" with a separate bedroom, and mini refrigerator. The lovely gardens and sitting areas, the colonial ambiance and the incredible view of El Misti volcano from our front door made us wish we had a few more nights here. Great restaurants are all within walking distance. Since our bus ride to Nazca was not until 10PM the following evening, they let us have a very late check out (8PM) for a small fee. It was more than worth it to have a room there to use as a home base, and to have a place to leave our things and to shower before our long ride to Nazca.

Room Tip: As another reviewer mentioned it can be loud at night. I think there are several schools nearby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 91 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 91 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Property: La Hosteria
Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing