We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great colonial house”
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Hosteria
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Cracow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great colonial house”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice, clonial property with charming decor and ambience. The location is very good, central, but a little bit noisy. A short walk away from shops, restaurants and bars. Staff were all very helpful and profesional. Our room was spacious, great decorated and comfy. Unfortunately no working WiFi. Bathroom was quite nice and clean. The breakfast was rather poor (limited choice) but fresh. Overll nice option for stay 1-2 nights with good value ratio.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    114
    41
    8
    1
See reviews for
52
130
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights - the building is gorgeous, the room was spacious and clean, and the staff are friendly and courteous. However, two grumbles which for the price, could be improved upon.

The water was hot only once during our stay. It generally ranged between acceptably warm and quite cold. Not a huge problem, but not what you might hope for in a hotel of this standard. Secondly, breakfast was served between 7am and 10am - on arriving at around 9am, several items had run out, and on asking the kitchen, no replacements were available. This happened on both mornings of our stay. It's a buffet style breakfast and there's an insufficient amount for all the guests, which is a pity because what is available is lovely! The bread is warm and fresh, the ham is tasty and the fruit juice is freshly blended.

Another point to note is that the hotel is currently undergoing expansion, so the daytime is punctuated by building noise, but they did not start early, and it is reasonably unobtrusive.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel, and would stay here again in the hope that things may have improved - the upstairs terrace with flowers and mountain views is gorgeous.

Room Tip: Ask for one on an upper level for the views, and away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeSpirit246246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. On arrival our room wasn't ready so we were given a small but functional room. For the other two nights we were in one of the full size rooms which are pretty decent if a little retro. We did find quite a few long black hairs that weren't ours around the room. Also the jacuzzi bath didn't work. We only are breakfast here once and it was a pretty meagre show, at 09:30 there were a few scraps of scrambled egg left, little fruit. Warm bread with butter and jam is pleasant enough. The staff are friendly and helpful. Overall a solid choice given the average price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

La Hosteria is a lovely little hotel with good sized rooms that are clean, beds with fresh white linen and comfy pillows. Great breakfast buffet with that yummy Peruvian bread. Close to the city centre - a 10 minute walk. Just remember if you don't have hot water let them know downstairs and they will flick the switch to turn the heat on - takes an hour to heat up. The hostal itself, is a gorgeous old building. Have breakfast upstairs on the terrace if it is a sunny morning. Free wifi - good connection, luggage storage no problem, kept items in the hotel safe while doing a Colca Canyon trek, no elevator - just stairs to the second and roof top floors. The staff are very accommodating especially the housekeepers who want help you with back packs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Lovely hotel right next to the Catalina Monastery and a stones throw away from the Plaza de Armas and various tourist sights. Our spacious room was on the top floor and we could make use of the balcony which has stunning views over the city and El Misti mountain. The hotel is building another level and other than a dust track going from the bottom to the top floor we didnt experience any inconvenience or disturbance. At night the streetside is quite loud with cars hooting and people talking loudly - as long as the window is closed its no problem.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floor for the great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel. Clean, nice design, friendly English speaking staff. Very well equipped mini bar with low prices. Breakfast could have been more generous but apart from it - no complains. This hotel is quiet and is walking distance from all the tourist attractions. Really good place for stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for several nights in March. Our room was on the top level above the rooftop patio. It had an amazing view of el misti (huge window facing it). The only problem to take note of is that the hotel is building other rooms on the level and it makes for a bit of a mess. The stairs leading up to the room were always covered with dust from construction therefore we were always tracking it into the room. The one morning we tried to have breakfast outside in the courtyard but had to head inside when construction dust started floating down on us (and our food).
The hotel itself is warm, nice people and a welcomed place to return after a long day of walking. It's a great location and the street is quiet. Would I stay again...probably (I would just be more selective on the room...we did ask to move but there was nothing satisfactory available).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guyiiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Property: La Hosteria
Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing