We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid option in Arequipa”
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Hosteria
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good solid option in Arequipa”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. On arrival our room wasn't ready so we were given a small but functional room. For the other two nights we were in one of the full size rooms which are pretty decent if a little retro. We did find quite a few long black hairs that weren't ours around the room. Also the jacuzzi bath didn't work. We only are breakfast here once and it was a pretty meagre show, at 09:30 there were a few scraps of scrambled egg left, little fruit. Warm bread with butter and jam is pleasant enough. The staff are friendly and helpful. Overall a solid choice given the average price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    116
    41
    8
    1
See reviews for
54
137
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

La Hosteria is a lovely little hotel with good sized rooms that are clean, beds with fresh white linen and comfy pillows. Great breakfast buffet with that yummy Peruvian bread. Close to the city centre - a 10 minute walk. Just remember if you don't have hot water let them know downstairs and they will flick the switch to turn the heat on - takes an hour to heat up. The hostal itself, is a gorgeous old building. Have breakfast upstairs on the terrace if it is a sunny morning. Free wifi - good connection, luggage storage no problem, kept items in the hotel safe while doing a Colca Canyon trek, no elevator - just stairs to the second and roof top floors. The staff are very accommodating especially the housekeepers who want help you with back packs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Lovely hotel right next to the Catalina Monastery and a stones throw away from the Plaza de Armas and various tourist sights. Our spacious room was on the top floor and we could make use of the balcony which has stunning views over the city and El Misti mountain. The hotel is building another level and other than a dust track going from the bottom to the top floor we didnt experience any inconvenience or disturbance. At night the streetside is quite loud with cars hooting and people talking loudly - as long as the window is closed its no problem.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floor for the great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel. Clean, nice design, friendly English speaking staff. Very well equipped mini bar with low prices. Breakfast could have been more generous but apart from it - no complains. This hotel is quiet and is walking distance from all the tourist attractions. Really good place for stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for several nights in March. Our room was on the top level above the rooftop patio. It had an amazing view of el misti (huge window facing it). The only problem to take note of is that the hotel is building other rooms on the level and it makes for a bit of a mess. The stairs leading up to the room were always covered with dust from construction therefore we were always tracking it into the room. The one morning we tried to have breakfast outside in the courtyard but had to head inside when construction dust started floating down on us (and our food).
The hotel itself is warm, nice people and a welcomed place to return after a long day of walking. It's a great location and the street is quiet. Would I stay again...probably (I would just be more selective on the room...we did ask to move but there was nothing satisfactory available).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guyiiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luverne, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at La Hosteria for 3 nights...the location is ideal for visiting the Monasterio de Catalina and the Plaza de Armas. Very close walking distance to many shops and places to eat. Our room was rather small, but certainly adequate. The beds were very comfortable. Beautiful courtyard and upstairs patio. Very nice breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May 2013.
The hotel is and old house renovated with a lot of caracter.
Loved the patio and the common areas. The rooms are very good and full with small details.
The location is perfect in downtown so you can go walking every where.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,088 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 99 in Arequipa
809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Property: La Hosteria
Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing