We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The best hotel we stayed in during our time in Perú” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Hosteria
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best hotel we stayed in during our time in Perú”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

In the heart of downtown Arequipa--and, really, there's very little to see or do outside that central area--La Hostería offered us the best location for our visit. It's an old house now adapted to house guests, but the feel of the place, especially the common areas--the downstairs patio, the upstairs terrace with a view to the snow-capped mountains over the gushing bougainvillea--is that of staying at a friend's house. An affluent friend, to be sure: antique Spanish tile everywhere, expensive carpeting, a colonial stone staircase under a skylight that helps several potted plants thrive... Our room was comfortable, the beds good, the duvet warm enough to kick off in the middle of the night, and that view to the mountains! Service was excellent in every way--demure staff, helpful and polite in the best Peruvian tradition. We loved it.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, make sure to request a room in the back, away from the street. Especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    96
    34
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
109
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Had one lovely room for one night, then went on a colca tour, came back and t next room was nowhere near the first room, damp ceiling, paint falling off, bathroom looking old and run down.

As I say the first room was immaculate. If that was the standard throughout the hotel would have lived up to its rating but unfortunately on the second and third night the room was a major let down.

Also breakfast wasn't worth getting up for but this is the case in a lot of basic Peruvian hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BF_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is really great, very close to Plaza das Armas and just at the same street of Monasterio, hotel is very classic and quiet, rooms have old style but very well cleaned and comfortable, really recommend for every traveler.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renatodores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a non-refundable booking with booking.com when our flight from Juliaca was cancelled due to bad weather.
With a simple email the hotel staff was so nice as to cancel our reservation without any penalty on the day of arrival!! We would def book there again!
Thank u again very much!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorianBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in this wonderful hotel. We had very nice room on the second floor. The breakfast was most delightful, the personnel was very friendly. The receptionist miss Victoria was very kind and helped us to overcome the hight illness with learning us to drink coca tea. This very quiet hotel was one of our highlights during our trip in Peru.

Gaston Demaree and Eva Orvanova

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Of all of the places I stayed at during my trip to Peru my ultimate favourite was La Hosteria in Arequipa. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and helpful, and despite my not speaking any Spanish the staff and I managed to understand each other perfectly well with just a hint of help from my phrasebook.
The room was bright, airy and clean, the bed super comfy and there was plenty of storage space for my case and backpack.
I was provided with a map of the town and also the staff recommended places to go and even organised a tour of the city at a reasonable rate. When having to leave the majority of luggage there for 2 days while exploring the Colca Canyon the staff locked my luggage away in a safe place.
The hotel itself situated in the midst of some of the great sites to visit, practically in the middle of the city, and still the location was tranquil, you could sit in peace quite comfortably in the secure gated courtyard and just be.
Breakfast was always ready and waiting and the staff would bring out freshy and warm rolls out for you as soon as you sat at a table.
Leaving was quite emotional as the staff had wished me a wonderful time for the rest of my trip and invited me back to return to stay at any time.
Absolute gem of a place and even though i was travelling on my own I was well looked after by the staff. I intend to return there as soon as possible due to the fact that the hotle and staff left a positive and lasting impression in my heart and mind

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great place to be! Location quite but in the middle of all important sites in the city and quite. Nice spanish court, styled and maintained in its historic sence and with attention to a lot nice details. Terrace with nice view over the town and sunny lovely place that invites to stay much longer and rest. Comfortable rooms and sufficient large bed (for Peruan conditions) for this category with flat screen TV. Soap and lotion in small extra jugs - stylish in its old fashion. Staff friendly, helpful and attentive. Really absolutely worth the money and to stay longer.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richards J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#1 of 92 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 stars 892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 92 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Property: La Hosteria
Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing