We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Arequipa”
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Hosteria
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Arequipa
Harrisville, Michigan, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oasis in Arequipa”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful hotel on a quiet street. Staff was very friendly and helpful and Internet access is good. We had read that the hotel provided airport transfers, but that is not the case. They will call a taxi for transportation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMcNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    116
    41
    8
    1
See reviews for
54
139
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel has a great location in a quiet street behind Santa Catalina. The courtyard feels like an oasis of calm and piece with lots of colonial charm. the hotel is nicely decorated with antiques and has a fantastic terrace with view of the volcanoes.The staff were very professional and friendly - they gave us recommendations for dinner, helped us check in for our flights, organised taxis for us. Our room however could do with some upgrading - particularly the bathroom - to keep it up to standards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendrikM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Very nice, clean, lots of green, a nice place to rest. Have a coffee on the sunny terrace and relax between the shopping excursions to the main streets nearby. Staff is very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dejan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARNALDO M, Recepcionista at La Hosteria, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thanks you very much, your opinion is important for us, and we hope have an other visit for you in owr hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This as my last choice after my intial choices were all booked out. How lucky was I. It is a beautiful old house in a very quite street not far from the Plaza de Armas. There is lots of wonderful furniture in the cost sitting room and dotted around the place. There is a rooftop garden, an outside eating area and a restaurant for breakfast. A very delicious breakfast is included. I had room 301 which is above the rooftop garden and it looked straight out over el misti and some other snow capped mountains. I would wake up and look out of the mountains. The room was very clean and spacious and a good sized very clean bathroom with lots of hot water. There was shampoo, conditioner, hand wash etc. This is the first time I had seen those included in a while. The bed very very comfortable and there is wi fi. Laundry a bit expensive but very well done. The hostel very happily stored my luggage when I walked the Colca Canyon and allowed me to freshen up and wait there until my bus left for Ica later that night. Lots of great info at reception on restuarants and tour agencies. I felt really cared for here and nothing seemed too much trouble. A great atmosphere all round.

Room Tip: Room 301 has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a delightful old hotel built in the typical Arequipa style which I loved. Our room and bathroom were very spacious with high ceilings. The garden courtyard also creates a feeling of space on entering the premises. We only stayed 1 night but we were able to check in early after our overnight bus trip from Nazca. Staff were very helpful in this regard. Location was ideal, within walking distance of the plaza but in a quiet street behind the Monastery.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank survdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

old house behind Santa Catalina Monastery. comfortable rooms and beds despite not perfectly clean (carpet, curtains). very charming courtyard and terrace.
staff members are so nice and helpful.
breakfast and bill are very light.

Room Tip: there is a 3 bed bedroom large and in separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renaud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Lovely hotel behind the Monastery of Santa Catalina and 10 minute walk to Plaza de Armas. Spotlessly clean, very large and comfortable room and double bed, well-appointed modern bathroom, excellent staff, very reasonably priced. Their continental breakfast of coffee, juice, fresh fruit and bread was minimal but sufficient. If you want eggs, they charge extra for that.

We had two problems during our six day stay at this hotel. Firstly, one morning, there was no hot water but the staff jumped on this problem and in a few hours, restored the hot water.

Secondly, and more seriously, on Friday and Saturday nights the noise from the nearby bar/disco was so excessive that we suffered two sleepless nights. We were planning to change hotels. Management told us they called the police to fix the problem. Additionally the hotel's owner tried to sort things out with the bar owner. When we continued to complain, they changed our room which somewhat reduced the noise level. On other nights, we had no problems sleeping.

Room Tip: Room 205 with reduced noise from nearby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarlFlorida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 100 in Arequipa
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 100 in Arequipa
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 100 in Arequipa
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Property: La Hosteria
Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing