We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay with great atmosphere”
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Hosteria
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay with great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This as my last choice after my intial choices were all booked out. How lucky was I. It is a beautiful old house in a very quite street not far from the Plaza de Armas. There is lots of wonderful furniture in the cost sitting room and dotted around the place. There is a rooftop garden, an outside eating area and a restaurant for breakfast. A very delicious breakfast is included. I had room 301 which is above the rooftop garden and it looked straight out over el misti and some other snow capped mountains. I would wake up and look out of the mountains. The room was very clean and spacious and a good sized very clean bathroom with lots of hot water. There was shampoo, conditioner, hand wash etc. This is the first time I had seen those included in a while. The bed very very comfortable and there is wi fi. Laundry a bit expensive but very well done. The hostel very happily stored my luggage when I walked the Colca Canyon and allowed me to freshen up and wait there until my bus left for Ica later that night. Lots of great info at reception on restuarants and tour agencies. I felt really cared for here and nothing seemed too much trouble. A great atmosphere all round.

Room Tip: Room 301 has an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    116
    41
    8
    1
See reviews for
52
135
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a delightful old hotel built in the typical Arequipa style which I loved. Our room and bathroom were very spacious with high ceilings. The garden courtyard also creates a feeling of space on entering the premises. We only stayed 1 night but we were able to check in early after our overnight bus trip from Nazca. Staff were very helpful in this regard. Location was ideal, within walking distance of the plaza but in a quiet street behind the Monastery.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank survdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

old house behind Santa Catalina Monastery. comfortable rooms and beds despite not perfectly clean (carpet, curtains). very charming courtyard and terrace.
staff members are so nice and helpful.
breakfast and bill are very light.

Room Tip: there is a 3 bed bedroom large and in separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renaud R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Lovely hotel behind the Monastery of Santa Catalina and 10 minute walk to Plaza de Armas. Spotlessly clean, very large and comfortable room and double bed, well-appointed modern bathroom, excellent staff, very reasonably priced. Their continental breakfast of coffee, juice, fresh fruit and bread was minimal but sufficient. If you want eggs, they charge extra for that.

We had two problems during our six day stay at this hotel. Firstly, one morning, there was no hot water but the staff jumped on this problem and in a few hours, restored the hot water.

Secondly, and more seriously, on Friday and Saturday nights the noise from the nearby bar/disco was so excessive that we suffered two sleepless nights. We were planning to change hotels. Management told us they called the police to fix the problem. Additionally the hotel's owner tried to sort things out with the bar owner. When we continued to complain, they changed our room which somewhat reduced the noise level. On other nights, we had no problems sleeping.

Room Tip: Room 205 with reduced noise from nearby bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarlFlorida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We came to this small two-story guest house filled with skylights after a rather unhappy one-night stay at another Arequipa guest house, so we were predisposed to like this place. But even apart from that, it was, with a couple of caveats, a delightful place to stay. The entrance is through a courtyard filled with lovely flowers and foliage. There is attractive art hung throughout and many antiques. When the sun shines, the skylights are wonderful!
Our room, with a large window, was on the second floor, overlooking a small courtyard with walls laden with purple bougainvillea vines – beautiful! The room was good size, with two queen-size beds, each with a spotless white-covered duvet. There was ample closet space, a flat-screen TV and a small fridge. The bathroom was very modern and attractive.
Breakfasts, included in the room price, were great, served in two adjoining rooms furnished with antiques. The little tables had real tablecloths and cloth napkins. We were served a bowl of fresh fruit (with none of that “preservative taste” – this fruit was really fresh), tea or coffee of our choice, orange juice (or possibly orange drink) and a basket of warm rolls with butter and jam. The servers were very pleasant and accommodating, although they spoke no English. However, it should be noted that the young man at the front desk in the mornings, a fellow named Mauricio, and his late-night counterpart, Miguel, were extremely friendly and helpful and both spoke very good English. Mauricio had spent some time studying in Vermont!
Now for the caveats. First and foremost, be aware that this guest house, evidently like most others – perhaps all – in Arequipa, has no heat of any kind. Because of the altitude (I think it's at 7700 feet!) it can be very chilly. The interior walls feel icy to the touch. If you don’t mind the cold, this won’t bother you, but we felt chilled to the bone.
Second, the bathroom for our room, as noted above, is very attractive and modern, but it features a shower that is only partially enclosed. There is LOTS of hot water, so the steam creates waterfalls down all the chilly walls, and makes the towels and clothes very damp. Also, there's only a tiny ledge separating the shower from the rest of the bathroom, so the floor gets very wet.
The third concern was the lack of sufficient lighting and electric outlets. When we asked for a brighter bulb in the dim overhead light, the solution was to leave the bulb, but remove the fixture’s globe, leaving a naked light bulb dangling from the ceiling! (Not exactly what we had in mind.) And the one electrical receptacle near the desk had only two outlets, one of which was in use for the little fridge. The other one could be used for your computer, OR other electronic devices, OR the TV, OR the desk lamp...take your choice. The receptacle between the beds had only one outlet – for the tiny bedside lamp. (There are also two outlets in the bathroom, but dampness makes those a problem.)
Despite these concerns, we would highly recommend La Hostería... especially if you go during warmer weather ;-)

Room Tip: La Hosteria is on a quiet street so room location doesn't matter much; rooms in back would be ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed in la Hostería recently, and I can't describe how pleasant was our stay there. The place is cozy, just like a home away from home, the beds very comfortable and spacious, and just next of the Monasterio, a must-see in Arequipa.
The hotel has a beautiful terrace in the upper deck ideal for breakfast and enjoy the weather in town.
I am the type of tourist that always look for small hotels with character, and I was very satisfied with this one. If I ever come back to Arequipa, I must certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the second floor, is closer to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktycastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This colonial style hotel is located around a very nice courtyard (lots of flowers and plants) and have a great terrasse with a view on the mountains around. The rooms are simple but clean and confortable. People are very nice and helpful. Victoria is a great, super kind mama! City center (plaza de arma) is within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank X-O75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 99 in Arequipa
1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 99 in Arequipa
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 99 in Arequipa
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Property: La Hosteria
Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing